Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Congregation Connect vs ShalomCloud (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Congregation Connect) and 2026-10-12 (ShalomCloud). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Congregation Connect: Quote only. ShalomCloud: Small — Standard Support (homepage) $36/mo; Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing) $72/mo; Medium — Standard Support (homepage) $54/mo; Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing) $108/mo; Large — Standard Support (homepage) $72/mo; Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing) $144/mo.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: ShalomCloud leads (6.0 vs 14.0 of 20 points).
  • Communications and engagement: Congregation Connect leads (8.0 vs 3.0 of 15 points).
  • School and events: ShalomCloud leads (7.5 vs 10.0 of 10 points).
  • Pricing transparency: ShalomCloud leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
  • Overall: Congregation Connect 42.0/100 · ShalomCloud 59.0/100

Pricing side by side

Congregation Connect

No published price (quote).

Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

ShalomCloud

  • Small — Standard Support (homepage): $36/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; support by ticket/email only, ~2 business day response.
  • Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing): $72/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; priority triage, phone/email, minutes-to-hours response.
  • Medium — Standard Support (homepage): $54/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
  • Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing): $108/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support. Labelled 'Most Popular'.
  • Large — Standard Support (homepage): $72/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
  • Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing): $144/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support.

Setup: Conflicting on the vendor's own site: homepage says 'Conversion fee $200 for all levels'; /pricing says 'One-time conversion fee $400'.. Processing: Not stated anywhere on the site. No payment processor named; Capterra tags 'Payment Processing Software' but the site describes donation 'collection' only.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityCongregation ConnectShalomCloud
Membership & household recordsYes Constituents, members, donors, groups, households with a '360° view'.Yes Families, households and members with demographics, attributes, roles; custom attributes per household and member (Capterra description).
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Yahrzeit listed in the 'Connected Synagogue' feature set.Yes Reminders by email or surface mail, bimah lists; tracks Hebrew and Gregorian dates, observer chooses which.
Hebrew calendar integrationNot verified Not mentioned.Partial Hebrew-date handling for yahrzeits ('dual-dating'); no congregation calendar or zmanim feature described.
Dues, billing & receivablesNot verified Billing/statements not described on the vendor page; donations tracked. Kesef can run AR as a service.Partial Capterra description: track pledges, payments, contributions; monthly statements and annual tax letters. Vendor site itself describes 'Financials' only as recording payments and categories; invoicing not described.
Online paymentsNot verified Online forms are an add-on; payment processing not described.Not verified Event registration allows purchases and donations are 'collected', but no processor, card/ACH support or fees are stated.
Donations, pledges & campaignsYes Donations, fundraising, donor tracking.Partial Donation tracking and reporting; pledges per Capterra text; no campaign pages described.
General ledger / fund accountingNo No native GL; QuickBooks integration offered as an add-on (2018 guide: QuickBooks and Sage 50). Kesef provides bookkeeping as a service.No Posts to QuickBooks rather than keeping its own GL.
QuickBooks integrationYes QuickBooks integration listed as an add-on.Yes 'Automatically create entries in QuickBooks as funds are received'; tutorial 'Connecting to QuickBooks'.
Religious school managementPartial Classes and students tracked; no dedicated school/tuition module described.Yes Students by grade, rosters, email/text parents; registration via form builder.
Events & registrationYes Events listed; Planning Center Online Resources add-on for rooms/resources.Yes Member and non-member registration, item purchases, reminders, RSVPs.
High Holiday seatingNot verified Not mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned (honors are, seating is not).
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verified Not mentioned.Yes High Holiday honors: nominations, accept/decline tracking, reminders. Year-round gabbai scheduling not described.
Cemetery managementNot verified Not mentioned.Yes Responsible party, reserved-for and occupant by plot; documents and pictures per plot.
Website / CMSNot verified Not mentioned (no website builder described).No No website builder offered.
Email & newslettersYes Marketing automation and email marketing add-on.Partial Email used for reminders, forms and parent communications; no newsletter/marketing tool described.
SMS / textingNot verified Not mentioned.Partial Text parents (religious school); general SMS campaigns not described.
Member self-service portalYes Congregant portals listed as an add-on.Not verified Capterra tags 'Member Portal' but the vendor site does not describe one.
Mobile appNot verified Not mentioned (Salesforce mobile availability not claimed on page).No None described.
API / data exportPartial Salesforce platform: 'extendable by Force.com admins'; standard Salesforce APIs/exports implied but not stated.Not verified Rosters/bimah lists/reports; no export tool or API described. Audit trails exist.
Automation & workflowsYes Marketing automation; Salesforce workflow customization.Partial Automated reminders and QuickBooks posting; no workflow builder.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Congregation Connect, ShalomCloud.

Rubric scores

GroupCongregation ConnectShalomCloudMax
Jewish-specific workflows6.014.020
Membership, dues and money9.010.020
Communications and engagement8.03.015
School and events7.510.010
Data portability and migration5.55.010
Pricing transparency51515
Independent customer evidence1210
Total42.059.0100

Congregation Connect: strengths / limitations

  • Full Salesforce CRM extensibility and reporting
  • Suited to large, staff-rich congregations
  • Backed by Shulware/Togetherwork with Kesef bookkeeping available
  • No published pricing; per-user Salesforce licensing on top of support packages (2018)
  • Requires Salesforce-savvy staff
  • Small installed base (~50 in 2018)
  • Billing, seating, honors, cemetery not evidenced on vendor page

ShalomCloud: strengths / limitations

  • Lowest published price of the five ($36-$144/mo by size and support level) with a two-month no-card trial.
  • Covers several synagogue-specific records the cheaper competitors skip: cemetery plots, HH honors workflow, dual-dated yahrzeits with bimah lists.
  • Direct QuickBooks posting; audit trails documented.
  • No website builder, no member mobile app, and no clearly described member portal or online dues billing/invoicing.
  • Payment processing, data export and security practices are not described on the site.
  • Vendor's own pages conflict on price and conversion fee ($200 vs $400; two-column vs single-column pricing).
  • No usable third-party reviews (0 on Capterra, 1 unverified on G2); company location and team undisclosed.
  • Standard-support tier is email-only with ~2 business day response.

Full reviews: Congregation Connect · ShalomCloud · all comparisons