Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

ShulCloud review (2026)

Cloud-based synagogue management suite combining a member database, accounts receivable, website/CMS, scheduling, communications and a member portal, sold in three tiers.

Synagogue management platforms · Status: actively sold · Verified against www.shulcloud.com on 2026-10-12 · High confidence

Quick facts

Published price
Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo
Est. annual, 150 hh (billing tier)
$3,579.49
Est. annual, 400 hh (billing tier)
$3,579.49
Setup / onboarding
Not priced on the live site. Terms of Use (shulware.com/website-terms) §4.2 confirms onboarding fees exist and may be paid in installments if ShulCloud agrees. An archived shulcloud.com/faqs (nli.org.il web archive, date not shown; live /faqs now 404) said onboarding solutions ranged from a one-time $150 to $3,600+. Temple Tools' marketing page claims '$5000+' for ShulCloud onboarding — vendor claim, unverified.
Payment processing
Not stated on the plans page. Features page: online member payments by credit card or ACH eCheck; donations via PayPal or credit cards. Terms §4.2 reference third-party processing fees without amounts.
Target size
All sizes; signup form has a sub-100-account rate
Region
US-centric; 'over 1600 Shuls' claimed worldwide
Company
Shulware lists Two Ravinia Drive, Suite 500, Atlanta, GA 30346 (shulware.com); Capterra lists the vendor in West Nyack, NY (the RustyBrick origin). shulcloud.com itself states no address. · since Not stated on shulcloud.com; footer reads '©2002-2026 Shulcloud, LLC'. Shulware's archived about page says ShulCloud has served synagogues since 2012; it was built by RustyBrick (New York).

Score: 78.5/100

Jewish-specific workflows16.0/20
Membership, dues and money12.0/20
Communications and engagement12.5/15
School and events7.5/10
Data portability and migration7.5/10
Pricing transparency15/15
Independent customer evidence8/10

Computed by the published rubric from the feature evidence below. 100% of feature fields verified.

Documented strengths

  • Broadest published feature list of the five: yahrzeits, zmanim-driven scheduling, HH seating, gabbai/kibbudim, cemetery, school, campaigns, website/CMS all on one platform.
  • Transparent monthly and annual list prices on the vendor site.
  • Largest installed base claimed (1,600+ shuls), so peers and consultants familiar with it are easier to find.
  • Data export available at any time per the features page.

Documented limitations

  • Standard tier excludes billing, payments and statements — the financial core most synagogues buy the software for.
  • Several items are paid extras on top of the tier price: SMS, member mobile app, QuickBooks/Sage sync, data imports.
  • Onboarding fees exist but are not priced publicly.
  • Annual plans are non-cancelable and non-refundable per the plans page.
  • Third-party reviews are few, dated (2019-2022) and skew negative on support; the 2020 Yom Kippur outage is documented.

Our take

ShulCloud is the incumbent, and the review question is less "is it good" than "what does it actually cost to get the version that does billing, and is the rest of the package worth it against the newer flat-rate competitors." Its published feature list is the broadest in the market: yahrzeits, a Jewish calendar with zmanim, High Holiday seating, gabbai tools, cemetery, school, campaigns and a template website on one platform. The largest claimed installed base also means consultants, bookkeepers and the administrator at the synagogue across town already know it.

The pricing page needs reading carefully. The headline $161.99 Standard tier is sold as "ShulCloud without Financials": no invoicing, batch billing, statements or online member payments. A congregation that bills dues is a Premium customer at $313.99 a month, and school and fundraising modules sit in Enterprise at $464.99. Several items are paid extras at every tier: SMS ($35 a month for 2,000 messages), the member mobile app, QuickBooks or Sage sync ($500 setup unless bundled with onboarding), and data imports. Onboarding is charged but not priced on the live site; an archived FAQ once gave a range in the hundreds to low thousands, and a competitor's "$5,000+" figure is a marketing claim we could not verify. Annual plans are about five percent cheaper and are marked non-cancelable and non-refundable. There is also a signup checkbox offering Premium at $97.99 a month to shuls under 100 accounts with email-only support, which is the best deal on the page and the least visible.

Independent evidence is thin and dated: a handful of Capterra reviews from 2019 to 2022 that rate the product well on breadth and poorly on support, and news coverage of a Yom Kippur 2020 outage that the parent company's CEO acknowledged. In a 2024 r/Judaism thread, staff at Reform congregations described the website and email modules as limited and dated, wanted bulk edit and list upload (available only through paid business services), and otherwise called it a reliable core system with responsive support; a ShulCloud employee replied that bulk upload was in development. We treat all of that as individual experience, not measurement.

ShulCloud pricing

PlanMonthlyAnnualizedLimitIncludesExcludes
Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials')$161.99$1,846.69Not statedMember demographics & lifecycles, responsive customizable website, Jewish calendar with Zmanim, administrator mobile app '& more'. Compare page also marks included: yahrzeit management, cemetery management, event management, resource booking, email system, directory, CRM, data export, donations (PayPal/cards).Billing, payments and statements (invoicing, batch billing, tax & billing statements, reminder statements, online member payments, collections, seat management & billing, gabbai/kibbudim, campaign module, enrollment management, financial & member reporting) appear only in the higher tiers on /compare. Icon-to-column mapping on /compare was inferred, not labelled.
Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials')$313.99$3,579.49Not stated; signup form offers a $97.99/mo Premium rate for shuls with fewer than 100 accounts (email support only; moves to full price above 100 accounts)Everything in Standard plus billing, payments and statements, Purim Basket and other campaigns '& more'.Fundraising module and school management (Enterprise).
Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud')$464.99$5,300.89Not statedEverything in Premium plus fundraising and school management '& more'.Paid extras on /compare regardless of tier: SMS text messaging, new Mobile Member App, QuickBooks/Sage sync, QuickBooks/Rakefet/MARKS/Chaverware imports ('This feature costs extra, please inquire').
Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox)$97.99$1,175.88fewer than 100 accountsPremium features; email support only; moves to full Premium price above 100 accounts.Phone support; same paid extras as other tiers.

Pricing model: tiered. Terms: Monthly, Bi-Annually and Annually toggles on /plans. Annual view states 'ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION PLANS ARE NON-CANCELABLE AND NON-REFUNDABLE'. Terms: fee changes on 60 days' notice; fees generally non-refundable; access (including content) ends at cancellation; 10-day window to request a data download after termination for breach.. Annual prices read from the Annually toggle in a live browser session on 2026-10-12 (about 5% below 12x monthly). Bi-annual prices not captured. The $97.99 small-shul rate is a checkbox in the signup form, not a listed plan. Capterra's 'US$139.99 per user/month' starting price does not match the vendor page. Shulware's ShulCloud page (verified 2026-10-12) prices two of the extras: SMS $35/month for 2,000 messages or $420/year for 24,000, $10 per additional 650; QuickBooks/Sage sync setup $500 if bought separately, included with any onboarding purchase. Source: https://www.shulcloud.com/plans, checked 2026-10-12 (vendor-page). Prices exclude payment-processing fees unless stated.

Feature coverage, with evidence

"Yes" means we found the capability described on a vendor page (linked). "Partial" means limited, add-on or third-party. "Not verified" means we could not find it documented; it may exist. Ask the vendor.

CapabilityStatusNotes and evidence
Membership & household recordsYesMembership database, CRM, directory; members manage family members via login. source
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYesYahrzeit management with reminders to members, gabbaim, rabbi; included in all tiers per /compare. source
Hebrew calendar integrationYesRule-based zmanim 'Smart Schedule System', calendar widget with holidays, parashot, Hebrew/English dates; zmanim by lat/long. source
Dues, billing & receivablesPartialInvoicing, batch billing, statements, collections — but marketed as 'Financials' and absent from the Standard tier. source
Online paymentsPartialCredit card and ACH eCheck member payments; online member payments not in Standard. Donations by PayPal/cards in all tiers. source
Donations, pledges & campaignsYesOnline donations, pledges via gabbai module, Shalach Manot campaign module, fundraising module (Enterprise), site sponsor feature. source
General ledger / fund accountingNoNo general ledger; QuickBooks/Sage sync offered as a paid extra. source
QuickBooks integrationPartialQuickBooks/Sage sync is a paid extra: $500 setup unless bundled with an onboarding purchase. source
Religious school managementPartialSchool module/enrollment management; school management listed under Enterprise. source
Events & registrationYesEvent registration with payment, attendance tracking, resource booking (rooms, Torah scrolls, clergy). source
High Holiday seatingPartialHigh Holiday seating online and seat management & billing; not shown for Standard on /compare. source
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsPartialGabbai management (kibbudim, pledges) and kibbudim reporting; not shown for Standard. source
Cemetery managementYesManage one or multiple cemeteries; included in all tiers per /compare. source
Website / CMSYesTemplate-based 'fully customizable' site with CMS, hosting, HTTPS, SEO, Google Analytics. Basic template in basic packages; advanced design templates in Standard and Premium packages. No page found stating custom-built sites were discontinued (see open_questions). source
Email & newslettersYesNewsletters, advanced email system, email statistics, schedule emails; all tiers. source
SMS / textingPartialPaid add-on at every tier: $35/month for 2,000 messages or $420/year for 24,000. source
Member self-service portalYesMembers pay bills, update info, manage family, yahrzeits, billing. source
Mobile appPartialAdministrator app (iOS/Android) included; 'New Mobile Member App' is a paid extra. source
API / data exportPartial'Export Your Data' at any time; no API listed. source
Automation & workflowsPartialRule-based schedule generation, scheduled emails, reminder statements, batch billing; no general workflow builder described. source

Migration

Documented import sources: QuickBooks, Rakefet, MARKS, Chaverware.
Assistance: Onboarding packages; Shulware offers training and professional services.
Fees: Imports marked as paid extras on /compare ('please inquire'); archived FAQ cited onboarding packages $150 to $3,600+ (historical).
source

Support & security

Channels: email (questions@shulcloud.com), online help/videos, chat (per features page). Hours: Not stated. Signup form's sub-100-account rate is 'email support only'.. Training: Shulware lists training and professional services; no included-hours stated.. source
Security: No security page found on shulcloud.com. Terms: Service provided 'AS IS'; subscriber owns submitted content but grants a perpetual license; ShulCloud owns aggregated anonymous data. Shulhub-style certifications (SOC 2, PCI) not stated. source

What independent sources say

Individual experiences, not survey data. Review platforms are sparse in this niche; treat counts under 20 as anecdotes.

Questions to ask ShulCloud before you sign

  1. The memo's claim that a ShulCloud communications/websites page says they no longer build custom websites could not be found on shulcloud.com or shulware.com; the features page still markets a 'fully customizable' template site. Ask the vendor whether custom design services are offered.
  2. Current onboarding package prices (archived FAQ: $150 to $3,600+; competitor claim: $5,000+).
  3. Exact feature-to-tier mapping: the /compare page uses unlabeled icons; confirm what Standard actually includes.
  4. Payment processing rates and whether ACH is included in every tier.
  5. Bi-annual pricing (toggle exists; not captured).
  6. Whether Standard's 'email support only' language in the sub-100-account offer applies to other tiers.

Alternatives to ShulCloud

ProductPublished priceScore
EasyshulStandard (congregations with more than 150 families) $349/mo80.5/100compare
Rakefet OnlineRakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo78.0/100compare
MyShulStandard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo75.0/100compare
Temple ToolsFull CRM $370/mo66.0/100compare

Frequently asked questions

How much does ShulCloud cost?

Three published tiers on the vendor's plans page, verified 2026-10-12: Standard $161.99 a month, Premium $313.99, Enterprise $464.99, or about $1,847, $3,579 and $5,301 a year on annual billing. Standard excludes billing and payments. SMS ($35 a month for 2,000 messages), the member app, QuickBooks sync ($500 setup) and data imports are paid extras, and onboarding is charged but not publicly priced. Shuls under 100 accounts can get Premium for $97.99 a month with email-only support.

Who owns ShulCloud?

ShulCloud is a Shulware brand alongside Mitzvah Tools, Congregation Connect and Kesef Accounting. News reporting in 2020 and 2021 identified Shulware as part of Togetherwork, a private-equity-backed software group; the vendor's own pages do not name the parent. ShulCloud was originally built by RustyBrick in New York and the footer shows Shulcloud, LLC.

Does ShulCloud Standard include billing?

No. The plans page labels Standard "without Financials" and the comparison page lists invoicing, batch billing, statements, reminder statements and online member payments as Premium features. Congregations that invoice dues should price Premium.

What are the alternatives to ShulCloud?

Temple Tools (flat $370 a month, free onboarding, a documented ShulCloud transition program), Easyshul ($349 a month over 150 families), ShulHub ($99 to $180 a month), Rakefet Online (built-in accounting) and ShalomCloud (from $36 a month by size) are the actively sold options with verified records. See the ShulCloud alternatives shortlist.

Can I export my data from ShulCloud?

The features page says data can be exported at any time. The terms give a ten-day window to request a download after termination for breach, so request a full export before giving notice and confirm what it contains.

Sources

Spotted an error? Vendors and users can request a correction; we re-verify and note the change.