MyShul vs ShulCloud (2026)
Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.
Quick answer
- Price: MyShul: Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo. ShulCloud: Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo. For a 150-household congregation that is roughly $3,048 vs $3,579.49 per year before processing and setup fees.
- Jewish-specific workflows: ShulCloud leads (8.0 vs 16.0 of 20 points).
- Membership, dues and money: MyShul leads (18.5 vs 12.0 of 20 points).
- Communications and engagement: ShulCloud leads (10.5 vs 12.5 of 15 points).
- School and events: ShulCloud leads (5.0 vs 7.5 of 10 points).
- Independent customer evidence: MyShul leads (10 vs 8 of 10 points).
- Overall: MyShul 75.0/100 · ShulCloud 78.5/100
Pricing side by side
MyShul
- Standard: $179/mo · Unlimited contacts; 5 custom fields, 2 role permissions, 5 sponsorships, 5 tickets/store items, 2 seating maps, manual transaction entry up to $20k/mo (column mapping inferred from order) · 'All Core Features': CRM, donations, invoices, statements, schedules, zmanim, app, TV, fundraising tools, sponsorships, tickets/store, recurring payments, tax receipts
- Premium: $310/mo · Unlimited custom fields/permissions/sponsorships/seating maps; manual entry up to $40k/mo (inferred) · Standard + memberships, bulk invoicing, QuickBooks sync, accounting reports, Smart Forms with dynamic pricing, custom website + hosting + domain, payment terminal, bulk email
- Enterprise ('most popular'): $460/mo · Unlimited; unlimited manual transaction entry · Everything in Premium; eligible for Multi-Bank Payout add-on
- Add-ons: · Custom Website $44/mo ($36/mo annual); API & SQL Access $120/mo ($98/mo annual); Multi-Bank Payout $191/mo ($230/mo annual as printed; Enterprise only, up to 10 banks)
- Terms-of-service fee model (free tier): · 'Shuls have no subscription fees'; 1% platform fee on processed funds; 3% on raffle transactions; Stripe fees additional
Setup: Not stated. 'Small Shul Discount' available on request (no figure).. Processing: Stripe ('processed entirely by Stripe'); card/ACH rates not stated. Terms add a 1% platform fee on processed funds and 3% on raffles.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
ShulCloud
- Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials'): $161.99/mo · Not stated · Member demographics & lifecycles, responsive customizable website, Jewish calendar with Zmanim, administrator mobile app '& more'. Compare page also marks included: yahrzeit management, cemetery management, event management, resource booking, email system, directory, CRM, data export, donations (PayPal/cards).
- Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials'): $313.99/mo · Not stated; signup form offers a $97.99/mo Premium rate for shuls with fewer than 100 accounts (email support only; moves to full price above 100 accounts) · Everything in Standard plus billing, payments and statements, Purim Basket and other campaigns '& more'.
- Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud'): $464.99/mo · Not stated · Everything in Premium plus fundraising and school management '& more'.
- Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox): $97.99/mo · fewer than 100 accounts · Premium features; email support only; moves to full Premium price above 100 accounts.
Setup: Not priced on the live site. Terms of Use (shulware.com/website-terms) §4.2 confirms onboarding fees exist and may be paid in installments if ShulCloud agrees. An archived shulcloud.com/faqs (nli.org.il web archive, date not shown; live /faqs now 404) said onboarding solutions ranged from a one-time $150 to $3,600+. Temple Tools' marketing page claims '$5000+' for ShulCloud onboarding — vendor claim, unverified.. Processing: Not stated on the plans page. Features page: online member payments by credit card or ACH eCheck; donations via PayPal or credit cards. Terms §4.2 reference third-party processing fees without amounts.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Feature by feature
| Capability | MyShul | ShulCloud |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Yes CRM with unlimited contacts; 'Memberships' on Premium+; households not explicitly described. | Yes Membership database, CRM, directory; members manage family members via login. |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Not verified Not mentioned on pages read; a third-party roundup (wifitalents.com) lists 'yahrzeit tracking', unverified. | Yes Yahrzeit management with reminders to members, gabbaim, rabbi; included in all tiers per /compare. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Yes Schedules and zmanim in Core. | Yes Rule-based zmanim 'Smart Schedule System', calendar widget with holidays, parashot, Hebrew/English dates; zmanim by lat/long. |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Yes Invoices, statements, recurring payments; bulk invoicing on Premium+; payment reminders. | Partial Invoicing, batch billing, statements, collections — but marketed as 'Financials' and absent from the Standard tier. |
| Online payments | Yes Stripe; app and web payments; payment terminal on Premium+. | Partial Credit card and ACH eCheck member payments; online member payments not in Standard. Donations by PayPal/cards in all tiers. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Yes Donations, fundraising tools, sponsorships, raffles (3% fee per Terms). | Yes Online donations, pledges via gabbai module, Shalach Manot campaign module, fundraising module (Enterprise), site sponsor feature. |
| General ledger / fund accounting | Partial 'Accounting reports', up to 10 banks / multi-bank payout; not a GL. | No No general ledger; QuickBooks/Sage sync offered as a paid extra. |
| QuickBooks integration | Yes 'QuickBooks sync' on Premium and Enterprise. | Partial QuickBooks/Sage sync is a paid extra: $500 setup unless bundled with an onboarding purchase. |
| Religious school management | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Partial School module/enrollment management; school management listed under Enterprise. |
| Events & registration | Yes Tickets & Store (5 on Standard, unlimited above). | Yes Event registration with payment, attendance tracking, resource booking (rooms, Torah scrolls, clergy). |
| High Holiday seating | Yes 'Seating Map' (2 on Standard, unlimited above); homepage lists seat maps. | Partial High Holiday seating online and seat management & billing; not shown for Standard on /compare. |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Partial Gabbai management (kibbudim, pledges) and kibbudim reporting; not shown for Standard. |
| Cemetery management | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Yes Manage one or multiple cemeteries; included in all tiers per /compare. |
| Website / CMS | Yes Custom website with hosting, support and templates: included on Premium+ or $44/mo add-on. | Yes Template-based 'fully customizable' site with CMS, hosting, HTTPS, SEO, Google Analytics. Basic template in basic packages; advanced design templates in Standard and Premium packages. No page found stating custom-built sites were discontinued (see open_questions). |
| Email & newsletters | Yes 'Bulk email' on Premium+. | Yes Newsletters, advanced email system, email statistics, schedule emails; all tiers. |
| SMS / texting | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Partial Paid add-on at every tier: $35/month for 2,000 messages or $420/year for 24,000. |
| Member self-service portal | Partial Member-facing app pays invoices, donates, views schedules; a web portal is not described. | Yes Members pay bills, update info, manage family, yahrzeits, billing. |
| Mobile app | Yes iOS 'MyShul.com' v3.1 (2025-11-04) and Android 'com.myshul.app'; single app for users and admins. | Partial Administrator app (iOS/Android) included; 'New Mobile Member App' is a paid extra. |
| API / data export | Yes 'API & SQL Access' add-on $120/mo. | Partial 'Export Your Data' at any time; no API listed. |
| Automation & workflows | Partial 'Automates repetitive tasks'; Smart Forms with dynamic pricing; payment reminders. | Partial Rule-based schedule generation, scheduled emails, reminder statements, batch billing; no general workflow builder described. |
Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: MyShul, ShulCloud.
Rubric scores
| Group | MyShul | ShulCloud | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jewish-specific workflows | 8.0 | 16.0 | 20 |
| Membership, dues and money | 18.5 | 12.0 | 20 |
| Communications and engagement | 10.5 | 12.5 | 15 |
| School and events | 5.0 | 7.5 | 10 |
| Data portability and migration | 8.0 | 7.5 | 10 |
| Pricing transparency | 15 | 15 | 15 |
| Independent customer evidence | 10 | 8 | 10 |
| Total | 75.0 | 78.5 | 100 |
MyShul: strengths / limitations
- Published tier pricing and add-on prices
- Native member app, kiosk/TV displays, seating maps and raffles aimed at Orthodox shuls
- QuickBooks sync and API/SQL access available
- Pricing page and Terms describe two different fee models (subscription vs 1% platform fee)
- Terms assert MyShul owns all data entered and allow a temporary fee increase of up to 100%
- Yahrzeit, honors, school, cemetery, SMS not evidenced
- Self-published '11 compared' article and unsourced '#1 / 4.9' claim
ShulCloud: strengths / limitations
- Broadest published feature list of the five: yahrzeits, zmanim-driven scheduling, HH seating, gabbai/kibbudim, cemetery, school, campaigns, website/CMS all on one platform.
- Transparent monthly and annual list prices on the vendor site.
- Largest installed base claimed (1,600+ shuls), so peers and consultants familiar with it are easier to find.
- Data export available at any time per the features page.
- Standard tier excludes billing, payments and statements — the financial core most synagogues buy the software for.
- Several items are paid extras on top of the tier price: SMS, member mobile app, QuickBooks/Sage sync, data imports.
- Onboarding fees exist but are not priced publicly.
- Annual plans are non-cancelable and non-refundable per the plans page.
- Third-party reviews are few, dated (2019-2022) and skew negative on support; the 2020 Yom Kippur outage is documented.
Full reviews: MyShul · ShulCloud · all comparisons