Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Rakefet Online vs ShalomCloud (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Rakefet Online) and 2026-10-12 (ShalomCloud). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Rakefet Online: RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo. ShalomCloud: Small — Standard Support (homepage) $36/mo; Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing) $72/mo; Medium — Standard Support (homepage) $54/mo; Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing) $108/mo; Large — Standard Support (homepage) $72/mo; Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing) $144/mo. For a 150-household congregation that is roughly $1,080 vs $648 per year before processing and setup fees.
  • Membership, dues and money: Rakefet Online leads (16.5 vs 10.0 of 20 points).
  • Communications and engagement: Rakefet Online leads (9.5 vs 3.0 of 15 points).
  • Data portability and migration: Rakefet Online leads (8.0 vs 5.0 of 10 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: Rakefet Online leads (5 vs 2 of 10 points).
  • Overall: Rakefet Online 78.0/100 · ShalomCloud 59.0/100

Pricing side by side

Rakefet Online

  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1): $149/mo · not stated ('Unlimited seats for members, donors, admins and office') · Basic data migration (import/classify members, family relationships, donors, events, yahrzeits, journal entries, chart of accounts and opening balances); billed annually; 'On Year 2 Upgraded to an Existing User'
  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS: $90/mo · not stated · Current RakefetOnline user plan; billed annually; 'Existing User Deal Options Available'

Setup: Homepage says sign-up involves a 'one-time setup fee & subscription' but no amount is published; the pricing page lists none. Basic data migration is included in the new-user plan.. Processing: Credit card and ACH processing with recurring payments via Member Portal; integrations named: Stripe, PayPal, PayQuiq, Venmo (two versions of the page list different ones). Processor fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

ShalomCloud

  • Small — Standard Support (homepage): $36/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; support by ticket/email only, ~2 business day response.
  • Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing): $72/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; priority triage, phone/email, minutes-to-hours response.
  • Medium — Standard Support (homepage): $54/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
  • Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing): $108/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support. Labelled 'Most Popular'.
  • Large — Standard Support (homepage): $72/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
  • Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing): $144/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support.

Setup: Conflicting on the vendor's own site: homepage says 'Conversion fee $200 for all levels'; /pricing says 'One-time conversion fee $400'.. Processing: Not stated anywhere on the site. No payment processor named; Capterra tags 'Payment Processing Software' but the site describes donation 'collection' only.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityRakefet OnlineShalomCloud
Membership & household recordsYes Members, children, family relationships, committees, notes, attachments, profile pictures, new member/renewal forms.Yes Families, households and members with demographics, attributes, roles; custom attributes per household and member (Capterra description).
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Yahrzeits, mourners, memorial plaques, yizkor book reports, printed/emailed notices mixing Jewish and Gregorian dates.Yes Reminders by email or surface mail, bimah lists; tracks Hebrew and Gregorian dates, observer chooses which.
Hebrew calendar integrationYes Automatic Hebrew date conversion, weekly Torah portions and Haftarot, Google Calendar integration.Partial Hebrew-date handling for yahrzeits ('dual-dating'); no congregation calendar or zmanim feature described.
Dues, billing & receivablesYes Member/donor billing, global billing, recurring payments, member ledgers, receivables reports, printed or emailed statements.Partial Capterra description: track pledges, payments, contributions; monthly statements and annual tax letters. Vendor site itself describes 'Financials' only as recording payments and categories; invoicing not described.
Online paymentsYes Credit card and ACH, recurring payments via Member Portal; Stripe/PayPal/PayQuiq/Venmo named.Not verified Event registration allows purchases and donations are 'collected', but no processor, card/ACH support or fees are stated.
Donations, pledges & campaignsPartial Donation payment forms and donor giving tracking; 'School and Fundraising' listed on rakefetonline.com. Pledges not explicitly mentioned.Partial Donation tracking and reporting; pledges per Capterra text; no campaign pages described.
General ledger / fund accountingYes Full AR/AP, general ledger with restricted funds, check writing, journal entries, bank reconciliation, budgeting, P&L/balance sheet/trial balance/audit reports.No Posts to QuickBooks rather than keeping its own GL.
QuickBooks integrationNot verified Not mentioned on current vendor pages; UJA 2018 guide noted some customers pair Rakefet with QuickBooks or Sage.Yes 'Automatically create entries in QuickBooks as funds are received'; tutorial 'Connecting to QuickBooks'.
Religious school managementYes 'School Management' listed; religious school classes tracked in the database.Yes Students by grade, rosters, email/text parents; registration via form builder.
Events & registrationYes Form builder for events and registrations; special event tracking.Yes Member and non-member registration, item purchases, reminders, RSVPs.
High Holiday seatingPartial rakefetonline.com lists 'seating' among tracked data and 'High Holy Day planning' is cited; no dedicated seating-chart module described.Not verified Not mentioned (honors are, seating is not).
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsPartial 'Aliyot' tracked in the database per rakefetonline.com; no gabbai workflow described.Yes High Holiday honors: nominations, accept/decline tracking, reminders. Year-round gabbai scheduling not described.
Cemetery managementNot verified Not mentioned on vendor pages checked.Yes Responsible party, reserved-for and occupant by plot; documents and pictures per plot.
Website / CMSNo No website builder; donation/payment forms embed in an existing website and API access is offered for external sites.No No website builder offered.
Email & newslettersYes Email templates, quick messages, scheduled emails, contact lists.Partial Email used for reminders, forms and parent communications; no newsletter/marketing tool described.
SMS / textingYes SMS templates and quick messages via Twilio integration.Partial Text parents (religious school); general SMS campaigns not described.
Member self-service portalYes Members/donors view commitments, set up recurring payments, download receipts.Not verified Capterra tags 'Member Portal' but the vendor site does not describe one.
Mobile appNo Described as 'mobile friendly'; no dedicated app mentioned.No None described.
API / data exportYes Import/export and API access for external processes or websites.Not verified Rosters/bimah lists/reports; no export tool or API described. Audit trails exist.
Automation & workflowsPartial Scheduled emails and recurring billing; no general workflow engine described.Partial Automated reminders and QuickBooks posting; no workflow builder.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Rakefet Online, ShalomCloud.

Rubric scores

GroupRakefet OnlineShalomCloudMax
Jewish-specific workflows14.014.020
Membership, dues and money16.510.020
Communications and engagement9.53.015
School and events10.010.010
Data portability and migration8.05.010
Pricing transparency151515
Independent customer evidence5210
Total78.059.0100

Rakefet Online: strengths / limitations

  • Built-in full double-entry accounting (AR/AP/GL, restricted funds, bank rec) rather than relying on QuickBooks
  • Integrated Jewish calendar with Torah portions and Google Calendar sync
  • API plus import/export; unlimited users
  • Published pricing; basic data migration included for new customers
  • Live US-based phone support with published hours
  • Year-1 price ($149/mo) is substantially above the renewal price ($90/mo); both billed annually
  • No website CMS; no dedicated mobile app
  • Cemetery, QuickBooks integration and dedicated seating module not evidenced on current pages
  • No independent review-site presence found
  • Company location and ownership details not published

ShalomCloud: strengths / limitations

  • Lowest published price of the five ($36-$144/mo by size and support level) with a two-month no-card trial.
  • Covers several synagogue-specific records the cheaper competitors skip: cemetery plots, HH honors workflow, dual-dated yahrzeits with bimah lists.
  • Direct QuickBooks posting; audit trails documented.
  • No website builder, no member mobile app, and no clearly described member portal or online dues billing/invoicing.
  • Payment processing, data export and security practices are not described on the site.
  • Vendor's own pages conflict on price and conversion fee ($200 vs $400; two-column vs single-column pricing).
  • No usable third-party reviews (0 on Capterra, 1 unverified on G2); company location and team undisclosed.
  • Standard-support tier is email-only with ~2 business day response.

Full reviews: Rakefet Online · ShalomCloud · all comparisons