Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Congregation Connect vs ShulCloud (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Congregation Connect) and 2026-10-12 (ShulCloud). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Congregation Connect: Quote only. ShulCloud: Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: ShulCloud leads (6.0 vs 16.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: ShulCloud leads (9.0 vs 12.0 of 20 points).
  • Communications and engagement: ShulCloud leads (8.0 vs 12.5 of 15 points).
  • Data portability and migration: ShulCloud leads (5.5 vs 7.5 of 10 points).
  • Pricing transparency: ShulCloud leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: ShulCloud leads (1 vs 8 of 10 points).
  • Overall: Congregation Connect 42.0/100 · ShulCloud 78.5/100

Pricing side by side

Congregation Connect

No published price (quote).

Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

ShulCloud

  • Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials'): $161.99/mo · Not stated · Member demographics & lifecycles, responsive customizable website, Jewish calendar with Zmanim, administrator mobile app '& more'. Compare page also marks included: yahrzeit management, cemetery management, event management, resource booking, email system, directory, CRM, data export, donations (PayPal/cards).
  • Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials'): $313.99/mo · Not stated; signup form offers a $97.99/mo Premium rate for shuls with fewer than 100 accounts (email support only; moves to full price above 100 accounts) · Everything in Standard plus billing, payments and statements, Purim Basket and other campaigns '& more'.
  • Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud'): $464.99/mo · Not stated · Everything in Premium plus fundraising and school management '& more'.
  • Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox): $97.99/mo · fewer than 100 accounts · Premium features; email support only; moves to full Premium price above 100 accounts.

Setup: Not priced on the live site. Terms of Use (shulware.com/website-terms) §4.2 confirms onboarding fees exist and may be paid in installments if ShulCloud agrees. An archived shulcloud.com/faqs (nli.org.il web archive, date not shown; live /faqs now 404) said onboarding solutions ranged from a one-time $150 to $3,600+. Temple Tools' marketing page claims '$5000+' for ShulCloud onboarding — vendor claim, unverified.. Processing: Not stated on the plans page. Features page: online member payments by credit card or ACH eCheck; donations via PayPal or credit cards. Terms §4.2 reference third-party processing fees without amounts.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityCongregation ConnectShulCloud
Membership & household recordsYes Constituents, members, donors, groups, households with a '360° view'.Yes Membership database, CRM, directory; members manage family members via login.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Yahrzeit listed in the 'Connected Synagogue' feature set.Yes Yahrzeit management with reminders to members, gabbaim, rabbi; included in all tiers per /compare.
Hebrew calendar integrationNot verified Not mentioned.Yes Rule-based zmanim 'Smart Schedule System', calendar widget with holidays, parashot, Hebrew/English dates; zmanim by lat/long.
Dues, billing & receivablesNot verified Billing/statements not described on the vendor page; donations tracked. Kesef can run AR as a service.Partial Invoicing, batch billing, statements, collections — but marketed as 'Financials' and absent from the Standard tier.
Online paymentsNot verified Online forms are an add-on; payment processing not described.Partial Credit card and ACH eCheck member payments; online member payments not in Standard. Donations by PayPal/cards in all tiers.
Donations, pledges & campaignsYes Donations, fundraising, donor tracking.Yes Online donations, pledges via gabbai module, Shalach Manot campaign module, fundraising module (Enterprise), site sponsor feature.
General ledger / fund accountingNo No native GL; QuickBooks integration offered as an add-on (2018 guide: QuickBooks and Sage 50). Kesef provides bookkeeping as a service.No No general ledger; QuickBooks/Sage sync offered as a paid extra.
QuickBooks integrationYes QuickBooks integration listed as an add-on.Partial QuickBooks/Sage sync is a paid extra: $500 setup unless bundled with an onboarding purchase.
Religious school managementPartial Classes and students tracked; no dedicated school/tuition module described.Partial School module/enrollment management; school management listed under Enterprise.
Events & registrationYes Events listed; Planning Center Online Resources add-on for rooms/resources.Yes Event registration with payment, attendance tracking, resource booking (rooms, Torah scrolls, clergy).
High Holiday seatingNot verified Not mentioned.Partial High Holiday seating online and seat management & billing; not shown for Standard on /compare.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verified Not mentioned.Partial Gabbai management (kibbudim, pledges) and kibbudim reporting; not shown for Standard.
Cemetery managementNot verified Not mentioned.Yes Manage one or multiple cemeteries; included in all tiers per /compare.
Website / CMSNot verified Not mentioned (no website builder described).Yes Template-based 'fully customizable' site with CMS, hosting, HTTPS, SEO, Google Analytics. Basic template in basic packages; advanced design templates in Standard and Premium packages. No page found stating custom-built sites were discontinued (see open_questions).
Email & newslettersYes Marketing automation and email marketing add-on.Yes Newsletters, advanced email system, email statistics, schedule emails; all tiers.
SMS / textingNot verified Not mentioned.Partial Paid add-on at every tier: $35/month for 2,000 messages or $420/year for 24,000.
Member self-service portalYes Congregant portals listed as an add-on.Yes Members pay bills, update info, manage family, yahrzeits, billing.
Mobile appNot verified Not mentioned (Salesforce mobile availability not claimed on page).Partial Administrator app (iOS/Android) included; 'New Mobile Member App' is a paid extra.
API / data exportPartial Salesforce platform: 'extendable by Force.com admins'; standard Salesforce APIs/exports implied but not stated.Partial 'Export Your Data' at any time; no API listed.
Automation & workflowsYes Marketing automation; Salesforce workflow customization.Partial Rule-based schedule generation, scheduled emails, reminder statements, batch billing; no general workflow builder described.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Congregation Connect, ShulCloud.

Rubric scores

GroupCongregation ConnectShulCloudMax
Jewish-specific workflows6.016.020
Membership, dues and money9.012.020
Communications and engagement8.012.515
School and events7.57.510
Data portability and migration5.57.510
Pricing transparency51515
Independent customer evidence1810
Total42.078.5100

Congregation Connect: strengths / limitations

  • Full Salesforce CRM extensibility and reporting
  • Suited to large, staff-rich congregations
  • Backed by Shulware/Togetherwork with Kesef bookkeeping available
  • No published pricing; per-user Salesforce licensing on top of support packages (2018)
  • Requires Salesforce-savvy staff
  • Small installed base (~50 in 2018)
  • Billing, seating, honors, cemetery not evidenced on vendor page

ShulCloud: strengths / limitations

  • Broadest published feature list of the five: yahrzeits, zmanim-driven scheduling, HH seating, gabbai/kibbudim, cemetery, school, campaigns, website/CMS all on one platform.
  • Transparent monthly and annual list prices on the vendor site.
  • Largest installed base claimed (1,600+ shuls), so peers and consultants familiar with it are easier to find.
  • Data export available at any time per the features page.
  • Standard tier excludes billing, payments and statements — the financial core most synagogues buy the software for.
  • Several items are paid extras on top of the tier price: SMS, member mobile app, QuickBooks/Sage sync, data imports.
  • Onboarding fees exist but are not priced publicly.
  • Annual plans are non-cancelable and non-refundable per the plans page.
  • Third-party reviews are few, dated (2019-2022) and skew negative on support; the 2020 Yom Kippur outage is documented.

Full reviews: Congregation Connect · ShulCloud · all comparisons