Congregation Connect vs Shul Software (2026)
Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.
Quick answer
- Price: Congregation Connect: Quote only. Shul Software: Tiered.
- Jewish-specific workflows: Shul Software leads (6.0 vs 10.0 of 20 points).
- School and events: Congregation Connect leads (7.5 vs 2.5 of 10 points).
- Data portability and migration: Congregation Connect leads (5.5 vs 2.5 of 10 points).
- Overall: Congregation Connect 42.0/100 · Shul Software 38.5/100
Pricing side by side
Congregation Connect
No published price (quote).
Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Shul Software
- Community (free): · up to 36 members · 50 outbound emails/day; website add-on CAD $18/mo
- Small Synagogue: · 37-108 members · CAD $50/month; 100 emails/day; website add-on CAD $9/mo
- Medium Synagogue ('Most Popular'): · 109-218 members · CAD $75/month; 200 emails/day; website included
- Large Synagogue: · 219+ members · CAD $100/month; 500 emails/day; website included
Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated (online payments not described). Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Feature by feature
| Capability | Congregation Connect | Shul Software |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Yes Constituents, members, donors, groups, households with a '360° view'. | Yes Member profiles with family members/relationships, membership status and history, Mi Sheberach lists. |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Yes Yahrzeit listed in the 'Connected Synagogue' feature set. | Yes Hebrew/civil date alignment with sunset-aware conversion, weekly/monthly lists, optional emails to relatives, board exports. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Not verified Not mentioned. | Partial Hebrew date conversion for yahrzeits; no general congregational Hebrew calendar described. |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Not verified Billing/statements not described on the vendor page; donations tracked. Kesef can run AR as a service. | Partial Membership dues reports, pledge schedules and reminders, exportable statements; no invoicing/AR ledger described. |
| Online payments | Not verified Online forms are an add-on; payment processing not described. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Yes Donations, fundraising, donor tracking. | Yes One-time and recurring donations, pledges, campaigns, funds, CRA/IRS tax receipts, appeals. |
| General ledger / fund accounting | No No native GL; QuickBooks integration offered as an add-on (2018 guide: QuickBooks and Sage 50). Kesef provides bookkeeping as a service. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| QuickBooks integration | Yes QuickBooks integration listed as an add-on. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Religious school management | Partial Classes and students tracked; no dedicated school/tuition module described. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Events & registration | Yes Events listed; Planning Center Online Resources add-on for rooms/resources. | Partial Event participation tracking; no registration/ticketing described. |
| High Holiday seating | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified Not mentioned. | Partial Aliyot tracked under pledges/events; no gabbai workflow described. |
| Cemetery management | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Website / CMS | Not verified Not mentioned (no website builder described). | Partial A 'website' is an add-on on lower tiers and included on Medium/Large; its scope is not described. |
| Email & newsletters | Yes Marketing automation and email marketing add-on. | Yes Outbound email with daily quotas per tier (50-500/day). |
| SMS / texting | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Member self-service portal | Yes Congregant portals listed as an add-on. | Yes Secure members portal. |
| Mobile app | Not verified Not mentioned (Salesforce mobile availability not claimed on page). | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| API / data export | Partial Salesforce platform: 'extendable by Force.com admins'; standard Salesforce APIs/exports implied but not stated. | Partial CSV/PDF exports of reports and statements; no API described. |
| Automation & workflows | Yes Marketing automation; Salesforce workflow customization. | Partial Pledge reminders and automated yahrzeit emails. |
Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Congregation Connect, Shul Software.
Rubric scores
| Group | Congregation Connect | Shul Software | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jewish-specific workflows | 6.0 | 10.0 | 20 |
| Membership, dues and money | 9.0 | 9.5 | 20 |
| Communications and engagement | 8.0 | 9.0 | 15 |
| School and events | 7.5 | 2.5 | 10 |
| Data portability and migration | 5.5 | 2.5 | 10 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 | 5 | 15 |
| Independent customer evidence | 1 | 0 | 10 |
| Total | 42.0 | 38.5 | 100 |
Congregation Connect: strengths / limitations
- Full Salesforce CRM extensibility and reporting
- Suited to large, staff-rich congregations
- Backed by Shulware/Togetherwork with Kesef bookkeeping available
- No published pricing; per-user Salesforce licensing on top of support packages (2018)
- Requires Salesforce-savvy staff
- Small installed base (~50 in 2018)
- Billing, seating, honors, cemetery not evidenced on vendor page
Shul Software: strengths / limitations
- Free tier for congregations up to 36 members
- Low published CAD pricing
- Sunset-aware Hebrew date handling and CRA/IRS receipts
- Role-based access and members portal
- No accounting, QuickBooks, school, seating, cemetery, SMS or online-payment features evidenced
- Daily outbound email caps
- No independent reviews; company details sparse
- Member vs family counting ambiguity in tiers
Full reviews: Congregation Connect · Shul Software · all comparisons