Congregation Connect vs Rakefet Online (2026)
Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.
Quick answer
- Price: Congregation Connect: Quote only. Rakefet Online: RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo.
- Jewish-specific workflows: Rakefet Online leads (6.0 vs 14.0 of 20 points).
- Membership, dues and money: Rakefet Online leads (9.0 vs 16.5 of 20 points).
- Communications and engagement: Rakefet Online leads (8.0 vs 9.5 of 15 points).
- School and events: Rakefet Online leads (7.5 vs 10.0 of 10 points).
- Data portability and migration: Rakefet Online leads (5.5 vs 8.0 of 10 points).
- Pricing transparency: Rakefet Online leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
- Independent customer evidence: Rakefet Online leads (1 vs 5 of 10 points).
- Overall: Congregation Connect 42.0/100 · Rakefet Online 78.0/100
Pricing side by side
Congregation Connect
No published price (quote).
Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Rakefet Online
- RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1): $149/mo · not stated ('Unlimited seats for members, donors, admins and office') · Basic data migration (import/classify members, family relationships, donors, events, yahrzeits, journal entries, chart of accounts and opening balances); billed annually; 'On Year 2 Upgraded to an Existing User'
- RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS: $90/mo · not stated · Current RakefetOnline user plan; billed annually; 'Existing User Deal Options Available'
Setup: Homepage says sign-up involves a 'one-time setup fee & subscription' but no amount is published; the pricing page lists none. Basic data migration is included in the new-user plan.. Processing: Credit card and ACH processing with recurring payments via Member Portal; integrations named: Stripe, PayPal, PayQuiq, Venmo (two versions of the page list different ones). Processor fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Feature by feature
| Capability | Congregation Connect | Rakefet Online |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Yes Constituents, members, donors, groups, households with a '360° view'. | Yes Members, children, family relationships, committees, notes, attachments, profile pictures, new member/renewal forms. |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Yes Yahrzeit listed in the 'Connected Synagogue' feature set. | Yes Yahrzeits, mourners, memorial plaques, yizkor book reports, printed/emailed notices mixing Jewish and Gregorian dates. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Not verified Not mentioned. | Yes Automatic Hebrew date conversion, weekly Torah portions and Haftarot, Google Calendar integration. |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Not verified Billing/statements not described on the vendor page; donations tracked. Kesef can run AR as a service. | Yes Member/donor billing, global billing, recurring payments, member ledgers, receivables reports, printed or emailed statements. |
| Online payments | Not verified Online forms are an add-on; payment processing not described. | Yes Credit card and ACH, recurring payments via Member Portal; Stripe/PayPal/PayQuiq/Venmo named. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Yes Donations, fundraising, donor tracking. | Partial Donation payment forms and donor giving tracking; 'School and Fundraising' listed on rakefetonline.com. Pledges not explicitly mentioned. |
| General ledger / fund accounting | No No native GL; QuickBooks integration offered as an add-on (2018 guide: QuickBooks and Sage 50). Kesef provides bookkeeping as a service. | Yes Full AR/AP, general ledger with restricted funds, check writing, journal entries, bank reconciliation, budgeting, P&L/balance sheet/trial balance/audit reports. |
| QuickBooks integration | Yes QuickBooks integration listed as an add-on. | Not verified Not mentioned on current vendor pages; UJA 2018 guide noted some customers pair Rakefet with QuickBooks or Sage. |
| Religious school management | Partial Classes and students tracked; no dedicated school/tuition module described. | Yes 'School Management' listed; religious school classes tracked in the database. |
| Events & registration | Yes Events listed; Planning Center Online Resources add-on for rooms/resources. | Yes Form builder for events and registrations; special event tracking. |
| High Holiday seating | Not verified Not mentioned. | Partial rakefetonline.com lists 'seating' among tracked data and 'High Holy Day planning' is cited; no dedicated seating-chart module described. |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified Not mentioned. | Partial 'Aliyot' tracked in the database per rakefetonline.com; no gabbai workflow described. |
| Cemetery management | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned on vendor pages checked. |
| Website / CMS | Not verified Not mentioned (no website builder described). | No No website builder; donation/payment forms embed in an existing website and API access is offered for external sites. |
| Email & newsletters | Yes Marketing automation and email marketing add-on. | Yes Email templates, quick messages, scheduled emails, contact lists. |
| SMS / texting | Not verified Not mentioned. | Yes SMS templates and quick messages via Twilio integration. |
| Member self-service portal | Yes Congregant portals listed as an add-on. | Yes Members/donors view commitments, set up recurring payments, download receipts. |
| Mobile app | Not verified Not mentioned (Salesforce mobile availability not claimed on page). | No Described as 'mobile friendly'; no dedicated app mentioned. |
| API / data export | Partial Salesforce platform: 'extendable by Force.com admins'; standard Salesforce APIs/exports implied but not stated. | Yes Import/export and API access for external processes or websites. |
| Automation & workflows | Yes Marketing automation; Salesforce workflow customization. | Partial Scheduled emails and recurring billing; no general workflow engine described. |
Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Congregation Connect, Rakefet Online.
Rubric scores
| Group | Congregation Connect | Rakefet Online | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jewish-specific workflows | 6.0 | 14.0 | 20 |
| Membership, dues and money | 9.0 | 16.5 | 20 |
| Communications and engagement | 8.0 | 9.5 | 15 |
| School and events | 7.5 | 10.0 | 10 |
| Data portability and migration | 5.5 | 8.0 | 10 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 | 15 | 15 |
| Independent customer evidence | 1 | 5 | 10 |
| Total | 42.0 | 78.0 | 100 |
Congregation Connect: strengths / limitations
- Full Salesforce CRM extensibility and reporting
- Suited to large, staff-rich congregations
- Backed by Shulware/Togetherwork with Kesef bookkeeping available
- No published pricing; per-user Salesforce licensing on top of support packages (2018)
- Requires Salesforce-savvy staff
- Small installed base (~50 in 2018)
- Billing, seating, honors, cemetery not evidenced on vendor page
Rakefet Online: strengths / limitations
- Built-in full double-entry accounting (AR/AP/GL, restricted funds, bank rec) rather than relying on QuickBooks
- Integrated Jewish calendar with Torah portions and Google Calendar sync
- API plus import/export; unlimited users
- Published pricing; basic data migration included for new customers
- Live US-based phone support with published hours
- Year-1 price ($149/mo) is substantially above the renewal price ($90/mo); both billed annually
- No website CMS; no dedicated mobile app
- Cemetery, QuickBooks integration and dedicated seating module not evidenced on current pages
- No independent review-site presence found
- Company location and ownership details not published
Full reviews: Congregation Connect · Rakefet Online · all comparisons