Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Cardova vs Rakefet Online (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Cardova) and 2026-10-12 (Rakefet Online). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Cardova: Starter plan ('Popular') $80/mo; Pro plan $160/mo. Rakefet Online: RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo. For a 150-household congregation that is roughly $864 vs $1,080 per year before processing and setup fees.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: Rakefet Online leads (7.0 vs 14.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: Rakefet Online leads (15.0 vs 16.5 of 20 points).
  • School and events: Rakefet Online leads (5.0 vs 10.0 of 10 points).
  • Data portability and migration: Rakefet Online leads (5.5 vs 8.0 of 10 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: Rakefet Online leads (1 vs 5 of 10 points).
  • Overall: Cardova 58.5/100 · Rakefet Online 78.0/100

Pricing side by side

Cardova

  • Free plan: · up to 100 community members/contacts; 1 administrator · Essential features, basic reporting/analytics, basic chat and email support
  • Starter plan ('Popular'): $80/mo · up to 500 members/contacts; 2 administrators · $80/mo billed monthly or $72/mo billed annually ($864/yr); free data transfer to Cardova, advanced reporting/analytics, priority chat and email support
  • Pro plan: $160/mo · unlimited members/contacts; 5 administrators · $160/mo billed monthly or $144/mo billed annually ($1,728/yr); advanced custom fields, audit log and data history, high-priority chat/email support

Setup: None stated; 'free data transfer' on annual paid plans.. Processing: Pricing table shows 'Platform fees 0% to 5%' on all tiers; processor and card fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Rakefet Online

  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1): $149/mo · not stated ('Unlimited seats for members, donors, admins and office') · Basic data migration (import/classify members, family relationships, donors, events, yahrzeits, journal entries, chart of accounts and opening balances); billed annually; 'On Year 2 Upgraded to an Existing User'
  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS: $90/mo · not stated · Current RakefetOnline user plan; billed annually; 'Existing User Deal Options Available'

Setup: Homepage says sign-up involves a 'one-time setup fee & subscription' but no amount is published; the pricing page lists none. Basic data migration is included in the new-user plan.. Processing: Credit card and ACH processing with recurring payments via Member Portal; integrations named: Stripe, PayPal, PayQuiq, Venmo (two versions of the page list different ones). Processor fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityCardovaRakefet Online
Membership & household recordsYes Individual profiles, households/family units, lifecycle from prospect to alumni, community groups, member self-updates.Yes Members, children, family relationships, committees, notes, attachments, profile pictures, new member/renewal forms.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersPartial Directory page: tracks 'lifecycle events with native support for the Hebrew calendar'; yahrzeit lists/notices not described explicitly.Yes Yahrzeits, mourners, memorial plaques, yizkor book reports, printed/emailed notices mixing Jewish and Gregorian dates.
Hebrew calendar integrationYes 'Native support for the Hebrew calendar' for lifecycle events.Yes Automatic Hebrew date conversion, weekly Torah portions and Haftarot, Google Calendar integration.
Dues, billing & receivablesYes Memberships with automated renewals, reminders, tiered access and reports; invoicing/AR ledger not described.Yes Member/donor billing, global billing, recurring payments, member ledgers, receivables reports, printed or emailed statements.
Online paymentsYes Donations, membership and ticket payments online; platform fee 0-5%.Yes Credit card and ACH, recurring payments via Member Portal; Stripe/PayPal/PayQuiq/Venmo named.
Donations, pledges & campaignsYes One-time and recurring donations, dedicated funds, giving reports, campaigns; pledges not mentioned.Partial Donation payment forms and donor giving tracking; 'School and Fundraising' listed on rakefetonline.com. Pledges not explicitly mentioned.
General ledger / fund accountingNo No accounting module described.Yes Full AR/AP, general ledger with restricted funds, check writing, journal entries, bank reconciliation, budgeting, P&L/balance sheet/trial balance/audit reports.
QuickBooks integrationNot verified Not mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned on current vendor pages; UJA 2018 guide noted some customers pair Rakefet with QuickBooks or Sage.
Religious school managementNot verified Not mentioned.Yes 'School Management' listed; religious school classes tracked in the database.
Events & registrationYes Events & ticketing with attendance and reporting.Yes Form builder for events and registrations; special event tracking.
High Holiday seatingNot verified Not mentioned.Partial rakefetonline.com lists 'seating' among tracked data and 'High Holy Day planning' is cited; no dedicated seating-chart module described.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verified Not mentioned.Partial 'Aliyot' tracked in the database per rakefetonline.com; no gabbai workflow described.
Cemetery managementNot verified Not mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned on vendor pages checked.
Website / CMSYes 'Community website' tooling.No No website builder; donation/payment forms embed in an existing website and API access is offered for external sites.
Email & newslettersYes Communication hub: announcements, event updates, automated occasion messages.Yes Email templates, quick messages, scheduled emails, contact lists.
SMS / textingPartial Pricing table row 'Text individual community members' (plan-dependent); no bulk SMS described.Yes SMS templates and quick messages via Twilio integration.
Member self-service portalPartial Members can update their own profile and household information; full portal scope not described.Yes Members/donors view commitments, set up recurring payments, download receipts.
Mobile appNot verified Not mentioned.No Described as 'mobile friendly'; no dedicated app mentioned.
API / data exportPartial Pricing comparison table includes 'API' and 'Export' rows; details not published.Yes Import/export and API access for external processes or websites.
Automation & workflowsYes Automatic receipts, renewal reminders, weekly reports; 'Automated workflows' row in plan table.Partial Scheduled emails and recurring billing; no general workflow engine described.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Cardova, Rakefet Online.

Rubric scores

GroupCardovaRakefet OnlineMax
Jewish-specific workflows7.014.020
Membership, dues and money15.016.520
Communications and engagement10.09.515
School and events5.010.010
Data portability and migration5.58.010
Pricing transparency151515
Independent customer evidence1510
Total58.578.0100

Cardova: strengths / limitations

  • Free tier and transparent low pricing
  • Modern directory with household and lifecycle modelling, Hebrew-calendar support
  • Automation of renewals, receipts and reports
  • Free data migration on annual plans
  • Very new vendor with no reviews, customer counts or published location
  • No accounting, QuickBooks, school, seating, honors or cemetery features evidenced
  • Platform fee of up to 5% on top of processor fees
  • Boilerplate copy on pricing page suggests an early-stage site

Rakefet Online: strengths / limitations

  • Built-in full double-entry accounting (AR/AP/GL, restricted funds, bank rec) rather than relying on QuickBooks
  • Integrated Jewish calendar with Torah portions and Google Calendar sync
  • API plus import/export; unlimited users
  • Published pricing; basic data migration included for new customers
  • Live US-based phone support with published hours
  • Year-1 price ($149/mo) is substantially above the renewal price ($90/mo); both billed annually
  • No website CMS; no dedicated mobile app
  • Cemetery, QuickBooks integration and dedicated seating module not evidenced on current pages
  • No independent review-site presence found
  • Company location and ownership details not published

Full reviews: Cardova · Rakefet Online · all comparisons