Cardova vs MyShul (2026)
Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.
Quick answer
- Price: Cardova: Starter plan ('Popular') $80/mo; Pro plan $160/mo. MyShul: Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo. For a 150-household congregation that is roughly $864 vs $3,048 per year before processing and setup fees.
- Membership, dues and money: MyShul leads (15.0 vs 18.5 of 20 points).
- Data portability and migration: MyShul leads (5.5 vs 8.0 of 10 points).
- Independent customer evidence: MyShul leads (1 vs 10 of 10 points).
- Overall: Cardova 58.5/100 · MyShul 75.0/100
Pricing side by side
Cardova
- Free plan: · up to 100 community members/contacts; 1 administrator · Essential features, basic reporting/analytics, basic chat and email support
- Starter plan ('Popular'): $80/mo · up to 500 members/contacts; 2 administrators · $80/mo billed monthly or $72/mo billed annually ($864/yr); free data transfer to Cardova, advanced reporting/analytics, priority chat and email support
- Pro plan: $160/mo · unlimited members/contacts; 5 administrators · $160/mo billed monthly or $144/mo billed annually ($1,728/yr); advanced custom fields, audit log and data history, high-priority chat/email support
Setup: None stated; 'free data transfer' on annual paid plans.. Processing: Pricing table shows 'Platform fees 0% to 5%' on all tiers; processor and card fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
MyShul
- Standard: $179/mo · Unlimited contacts; 5 custom fields, 2 role permissions, 5 sponsorships, 5 tickets/store items, 2 seating maps, manual transaction entry up to $20k/mo (column mapping inferred from order) · 'All Core Features': CRM, donations, invoices, statements, schedules, zmanim, app, TV, fundraising tools, sponsorships, tickets/store, recurring payments, tax receipts
- Premium: $310/mo · Unlimited custom fields/permissions/sponsorships/seating maps; manual entry up to $40k/mo (inferred) · Standard + memberships, bulk invoicing, QuickBooks sync, accounting reports, Smart Forms with dynamic pricing, custom website + hosting + domain, payment terminal, bulk email
- Enterprise ('most popular'): $460/mo · Unlimited; unlimited manual transaction entry · Everything in Premium; eligible for Multi-Bank Payout add-on
- Add-ons: · Custom Website $44/mo ($36/mo annual); API & SQL Access $120/mo ($98/mo annual); Multi-Bank Payout $191/mo ($230/mo annual as printed; Enterprise only, up to 10 banks)
- Terms-of-service fee model (free tier): · 'Shuls have no subscription fees'; 1% platform fee on processed funds; 3% on raffle transactions; Stripe fees additional
Setup: Not stated. 'Small Shul Discount' available on request (no figure).. Processing: Stripe ('processed entirely by Stripe'); card/ACH rates not stated. Terms add a 1% platform fee on processed funds and 3% on raffles.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Feature by feature
| Capability | Cardova | MyShul |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Yes Individual profiles, households/family units, lifecycle from prospect to alumni, community groups, member self-updates. | Yes CRM with unlimited contacts; 'Memberships' on Premium+; households not explicitly described. |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Partial Directory page: tracks 'lifecycle events with native support for the Hebrew calendar'; yahrzeit lists/notices not described explicitly. | Not verified Not mentioned on pages read; a third-party roundup (wifitalents.com) lists 'yahrzeit tracking', unverified. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Yes 'Native support for the Hebrew calendar' for lifecycle events. | Yes Schedules and zmanim in Core. |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Yes Memberships with automated renewals, reminders, tiered access and reports; invoicing/AR ledger not described. | Yes Invoices, statements, recurring payments; bulk invoicing on Premium+; payment reminders. |
| Online payments | Yes Donations, membership and ticket payments online; platform fee 0-5%. | Yes Stripe; app and web payments; payment terminal on Premium+. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Yes One-time and recurring donations, dedicated funds, giving reports, campaigns; pledges not mentioned. | Yes Donations, fundraising tools, sponsorships, raffles (3% fee per Terms). |
| General ledger / fund accounting | No No accounting module described. | Partial 'Accounting reports', up to 10 banks / multi-bank payout; not a GL. |
| QuickBooks integration | Not verified Not mentioned. | Yes 'QuickBooks sync' on Premium and Enterprise. |
| Religious school management | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Events & registration | Yes Events & ticketing with attendance and reporting. | Yes Tickets & Store (5 on Standard, unlimited above). |
| High Holiday seating | Not verified Not mentioned. | Yes 'Seating Map' (2 on Standard, unlimited above); homepage lists seat maps. |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Cemetery management | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Website / CMS | Yes 'Community website' tooling. | Yes Custom website with hosting, support and templates: included on Premium+ or $44/mo add-on. |
| Email & newsletters | Yes Communication hub: announcements, event updates, automated occasion messages. | Yes 'Bulk email' on Premium+. |
| SMS / texting | Partial Pricing table row 'Text individual community members' (plan-dependent); no bulk SMS described. | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Member self-service portal | Partial Members can update their own profile and household information; full portal scope not described. | Partial Member-facing app pays invoices, donates, views schedules; a web portal is not described. |
| Mobile app | Not verified Not mentioned. | Yes iOS 'MyShul.com' v3.1 (2025-11-04) and Android 'com.myshul.app'; single app for users and admins. |
| API / data export | Partial Pricing comparison table includes 'API' and 'Export' rows; details not published. | Yes 'API & SQL Access' add-on $120/mo. |
| Automation & workflows | Yes Automatic receipts, renewal reminders, weekly reports; 'Automated workflows' row in plan table. | Partial 'Automates repetitive tasks'; Smart Forms with dynamic pricing; payment reminders. |
Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Cardova, MyShul.
Rubric scores
| Group | Cardova | MyShul | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jewish-specific workflows | 7.0 | 8.0 | 20 |
| Membership, dues and money | 15.0 | 18.5 | 20 |
| Communications and engagement | 10.0 | 10.5 | 15 |
| School and events | 5.0 | 5.0 | 10 |
| Data portability and migration | 5.5 | 8.0 | 10 |
| Pricing transparency | 15 | 15 | 15 |
| Independent customer evidence | 1 | 10 | 10 |
| Total | 58.5 | 75.0 | 100 |
Cardova: strengths / limitations
- Free tier and transparent low pricing
- Modern directory with household and lifecycle modelling, Hebrew-calendar support
- Automation of renewals, receipts and reports
- Free data migration on annual plans
- Very new vendor with no reviews, customer counts or published location
- No accounting, QuickBooks, school, seating, honors or cemetery features evidenced
- Platform fee of up to 5% on top of processor fees
- Boilerplate copy on pricing page suggests an early-stage site
MyShul: strengths / limitations
- Published tier pricing and add-on prices
- Native member app, kiosk/TV displays, seating maps and raffles aimed at Orthodox shuls
- QuickBooks sync and API/SQL access available
- Pricing page and Terms describe two different fee models (subscription vs 1% platform fee)
- Terms assert MyShul owns all data entered and allow a temporary fee increase of up to 100%
- Yahrzeit, honors, school, cemetery, SMS not evidenced
- Self-published '11 compared' article and unsourced '#1 / 4.9' claim
Full reviews: Cardova · MyShul · all comparisons