Benevolate vs ShalomCloud (2026)
Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.
Quick answer
- Price: Benevolate: Quote-based: monthly core platform fee + a per-transaction fee on every payment except checks; premium modules priced separately. ShalomCloud: Small — Standard Support (homepage) $36/mo; Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing) $72/mo; Medium — Standard Support (homepage) $54/mo; Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing) $108/mo; Large — Standard Support (homepage) $72/mo; Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing) $144/mo.
- Jewish-specific workflows: ShalomCloud leads (10.0 vs 14.0 of 20 points).
- Membership, dues and money: Benevolate leads (17.0 vs 10.0 of 20 points).
- Communications and engagement: Benevolate leads (11.0 vs 3.0 of 15 points).
- Data portability and migration: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 5.0 of 10 points).
- Pricing transparency: ShalomCloud leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
- Independent customer evidence: ShalomCloud leads (0 vs 2 of 10 points).
- Overall: Benevolate 63.0/100 · ShalomCloud 59.0/100
Pricing side by side
Benevolate
- Synagogue Core (custom quote): · Not stated; quote depends on number of households, modules, implementation needs, migration complexity and website requirements · CRM, membership, donations, payments, forms, events, member portal, reporting, API access, yahrzeits, lifecycle, facilities
Setup: Implementation scoped per organization (data migration, configuration, training, payment setup, go-live support); no amounts published.. Processing: Stripe. /pricing states '2.2% + $0.30' for the nonprofit edition and says synagogue rates are 'in the quote'. The sample ledger on /feature/payments shows ~2.9-3.0% on card and $0.00 on ACH, which is illustrative, not a published rate. Who bears the fee is not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
ShalomCloud
- Small — Standard Support (homepage): $36/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; support by ticket/email only, ~2 business day response.
- Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing): $72/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; priority triage, phone/email, minutes-to-hours response.
- Medium — Standard Support (homepage): $54/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
- Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing): $108/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support. Labelled 'Most Popular'.
- Large — Standard Support (homepage): $72/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
- Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing): $144/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support.
Setup: Conflicting on the vendor's own site: homepage says 'Conversion fee $200 for all levels'; /pricing says 'One-time conversion fee $400'.. Processing: Not stated anywhere on the site. No payment processor named; Capterra tags 'Payment Processing Software' but the site describes donation 'collection' only.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Feature by feature
| Capability | Benevolate | ShalomCloud |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Yes 'Households and history'; relationships tied to people. | Yes Families, households and members with demographics, attributes, roles; custom attributes per household and member (Capterra description). |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Yes Yahrzeits listed in synagogue Core; /synagogues: 'Yahrzeit, cemetery, and lifecycle' module. | Yes Reminders by email or surface mail, bimah lists; tracks Hebrew and Gregorian dates, observer chooses which. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Not verified Not mentioned; Hebrew-date conversion for yahrzeits not described. | Partial Hebrew-date handling for yahrzeits ('dual-dating'); no congregation calendar or zmanim feature described. |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Yes 'Dues, invoices, payments, open balances'; staff see 'which households still have a balance'. | Partial Capterra description: track pledges, payments, contributions; monthly statements and annual tax letters. Vendor site itself describes 'Financials' only as recording payments and categories; invoicing not described. |
| Online payments | Yes Stripe card and ACH; recurring payments. | Not verified Event registration allows purchases and donations are 'collected', but no processor, card/ACH support or fees are stated. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Partial Gifts post to funds, GL and households; annual campaign category shown; pledges not described on pages read. | Partial Donation tracking and reporting; pledges per Capterra text; no campaign pages described. |
| General ledger / fund accounting | Partial Each revenue category maps to a chart-of-accounts line and deposit bank; journal export. Not positioned as a full GL. | No Posts to QuickBooks rather than keeping its own GL. |
| QuickBooks integration | Yes Journal sync posts journal entries, invoices and deposits to mapped QuickBooks banks incl. Undeposited Funds clearance. | Yes 'Automatically create entries in QuickBooks as funds are received'; tutorial 'Connecting to QuickBooks'. |
| Religious school management | Yes Premium module: enrollment, attendance, billing, family communication; Jacksonville Jewish Center case. | Yes Students by grade, rosters, email/text parents; registration via form builder. |
| Events & registration | Yes Tickets, RSVPs, volunteers, QR check-in. | Yes Member and non-member registration, item purchases, reminders, RSVPs. |
| High Holiday seating | Partial 'Registration, seats, and the household that reserved them stay together'; High Holiday seating per se not named. | Not verified Not mentioned (honors are, seating is not). |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified Not mentioned. | Yes High Holiday honors: nominations, accept/decline tracking, reminders. Year-round gabbai scheduling not described. |
| Cemetery management | Yes Cemetery is a Premium module; lifecycle module holds 'dates and rituals'. | Yes Responsible party, reserved-for and occupant by plot; documents and pictures per plot. |
| Website / CMS | Partial Website hosting is a Premium module; CMS depth not described on pages read. | No No website builder offered. |
| Email & newsletters | Yes Email campaigns and newsletters using household lists. | Partial Email used for reminders, forms and parent communications; no newsletter/marketing tool described. |
| SMS / texting | Yes Homepage: SMS 'using the same household lists'. | Partial Text parents (religious school); general SMS campaigns not described. |
| Member self-service portal | Yes 'A portal on the same record'. | Not verified Capterra tags 'Member Portal' but the vendor site does not describe one. |
| Mobile app | Not verified No native app mentioned. | No None described. |
| API / data export | Yes 'API access' in synagogue Core; detailed journal CSV export. | Not verified Rosters/bimah lists/reports; no export tool or API described. Audit trails exist. |
| Automation & workflows | Partial 'AI & automation' page and 'Ask Benevolate' query feature linked; details not read. | Partial Automated reminders and QuickBooks posting; no workflow builder. |
Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Benevolate, ShalomCloud.
Rubric scores
| Group | Benevolate | ShalomCloud | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jewish-specific workflows | 10.0 | 14.0 | 20 |
| Membership, dues and money | 17.0 | 10.0 | 20 |
| Communications and engagement | 11.0 | 3.0 | 15 |
| School and events | 10.0 | 10.0 | 10 |
| Data portability and migration | 10.0 | 5.0 | 10 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 | 15 | 15 |
| Independent customer evidence | 0 | 2 | 10 |
| Total | 63.0 | 59.0 | 100 |
Benevolate: strengths / limitations
- Genuine accounting mapping (category -> COA -> deposit bank) with QuickBooks journal sync
- API access included in Core; both email and SMS on household lists
- Security page is candid about SOC 2 status rather than claiming it
- Visible in the synagogue-executive market (NAASE 2026 Platinum sponsor)
- No published synagogue prices; everything is a quote
- Thin synagogue track record by its own account (four synagogues worked with directly)
- Hebrew calendar, honors/aliyot and a mobile app are not mentioned
- SOC 2 report not yet issued; no third-party reviews
ShalomCloud: strengths / limitations
- Lowest published price of the five ($36-$144/mo by size and support level) with a two-month no-card trial.
- Covers several synagogue-specific records the cheaper competitors skip: cemetery plots, HH honors workflow, dual-dated yahrzeits with bimah lists.
- Direct QuickBooks posting; audit trails documented.
- No website builder, no member mobile app, and no clearly described member portal or online dues billing/invoicing.
- Payment processing, data export and security practices are not described on the site.
- Vendor's own pages conflict on price and conversion fee ($200 vs $400; two-column vs single-column pricing).
- No usable third-party reviews (0 on Capterra, 1 unverified on G2); company location and team undisclosed.
- Standard-support tier is email-only with ~2 business day response.
Full reviews: Benevolate · ShalomCloud · all comparisons