Benevolate vs Cardova (2026)
Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.
Quick answer
- Price: Benevolate: Quote-based: monthly core platform fee + a per-transaction fee on every payment except checks; premium modules priced separately. Cardova: Starter plan ('Popular') $80/mo; Pro plan $160/mo.
- Jewish-specific workflows: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 7.0 of 20 points).
- Membership, dues and money: Benevolate leads (17.0 vs 15.0 of 20 points).
- School and events: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 5.0 of 10 points).
- Data portability and migration: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 5.5 of 10 points).
- Pricing transparency: Cardova leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
- Overall: Benevolate 63.0/100 · Cardova 58.5/100
Pricing side by side
Benevolate
- Synagogue Core (custom quote): · Not stated; quote depends on number of households, modules, implementation needs, migration complexity and website requirements · CRM, membership, donations, payments, forms, events, member portal, reporting, API access, yahrzeits, lifecycle, facilities
Setup: Implementation scoped per organization (data migration, configuration, training, payment setup, go-live support); no amounts published.. Processing: Stripe. /pricing states '2.2% + $0.30' for the nonprofit edition and says synagogue rates are 'in the quote'. The sample ledger on /feature/payments shows ~2.9-3.0% on card and $0.00 on ACH, which is illustrative, not a published rate. Who bears the fee is not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Cardova
- Free plan: · up to 100 community members/contacts; 1 administrator · Essential features, basic reporting/analytics, basic chat and email support
- Starter plan ('Popular'): $80/mo · up to 500 members/contacts; 2 administrators · $80/mo billed monthly or $72/mo billed annually ($864/yr); free data transfer to Cardova, advanced reporting/analytics, priority chat and email support
- Pro plan: $160/mo · unlimited members/contacts; 5 administrators · $160/mo billed monthly or $144/mo billed annually ($1,728/yr); advanced custom fields, audit log and data history, high-priority chat/email support
Setup: None stated; 'free data transfer' on annual paid plans.. Processing: Pricing table shows 'Platform fees 0% to 5%' on all tiers; processor and card fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Feature by feature
| Capability | Benevolate | Cardova |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Yes 'Households and history'; relationships tied to people. | Yes Individual profiles, households/family units, lifecycle from prospect to alumni, community groups, member self-updates. |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Yes Yahrzeits listed in synagogue Core; /synagogues: 'Yahrzeit, cemetery, and lifecycle' module. | Partial Directory page: tracks 'lifecycle events with native support for the Hebrew calendar'; yahrzeit lists/notices not described explicitly. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Not verified Not mentioned; Hebrew-date conversion for yahrzeits not described. | Yes 'Native support for the Hebrew calendar' for lifecycle events. |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Yes 'Dues, invoices, payments, open balances'; staff see 'which households still have a balance'. | Yes Memberships with automated renewals, reminders, tiered access and reports; invoicing/AR ledger not described. |
| Online payments | Yes Stripe card and ACH; recurring payments. | Yes Donations, membership and ticket payments online; platform fee 0-5%. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Partial Gifts post to funds, GL and households; annual campaign category shown; pledges not described on pages read. | Yes One-time and recurring donations, dedicated funds, giving reports, campaigns; pledges not mentioned. |
| General ledger / fund accounting | Partial Each revenue category maps to a chart-of-accounts line and deposit bank; journal export. Not positioned as a full GL. | No No accounting module described. |
| QuickBooks integration | Yes Journal sync posts journal entries, invoices and deposits to mapped QuickBooks banks incl. Undeposited Funds clearance. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Religious school management | Yes Premium module: enrollment, attendance, billing, family communication; Jacksonville Jewish Center case. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Events & registration | Yes Tickets, RSVPs, volunteers, QR check-in. | Yes Events & ticketing with attendance and reporting. |
| High Holiday seating | Partial 'Registration, seats, and the household that reserved them stay together'; High Holiday seating per se not named. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified Not mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Cemetery management | Yes Cemetery is a Premium module; lifecycle module holds 'dates and rituals'. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Website / CMS | Partial Website hosting is a Premium module; CMS depth not described on pages read. | Yes 'Community website' tooling. |
| Email & newsletters | Yes Email campaigns and newsletters using household lists. | Yes Communication hub: announcements, event updates, automated occasion messages. |
| SMS / texting | Yes Homepage: SMS 'using the same household lists'. | Partial Pricing table row 'Text individual community members' (plan-dependent); no bulk SMS described. |
| Member self-service portal | Yes 'A portal on the same record'. | Partial Members can update their own profile and household information; full portal scope not described. |
| Mobile app | Not verified No native app mentioned. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| API / data export | Yes 'API access' in synagogue Core; detailed journal CSV export. | Partial Pricing comparison table includes 'API' and 'Export' rows; details not published. |
| Automation & workflows | Partial 'AI & automation' page and 'Ask Benevolate' query feature linked; details not read. | Yes Automatic receipts, renewal reminders, weekly reports; 'Automated workflows' row in plan table. |
Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Benevolate, Cardova.
Rubric scores
| Group | Benevolate | Cardova | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jewish-specific workflows | 10.0 | 7.0 | 20 |
| Membership, dues and money | 17.0 | 15.0 | 20 |
| Communications and engagement | 11.0 | 10.0 | 15 |
| School and events | 10.0 | 5.0 | 10 |
| Data portability and migration | 10.0 | 5.5 | 10 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 | 15 | 15 |
| Independent customer evidence | 0 | 1 | 10 |
| Total | 63.0 | 58.5 | 100 |
Benevolate: strengths / limitations
- Genuine accounting mapping (category -> COA -> deposit bank) with QuickBooks journal sync
- API access included in Core; both email and SMS on household lists
- Security page is candid about SOC 2 status rather than claiming it
- Visible in the synagogue-executive market (NAASE 2026 Platinum sponsor)
- No published synagogue prices; everything is a quote
- Thin synagogue track record by its own account (four synagogues worked with directly)
- Hebrew calendar, honors/aliyot and a mobile app are not mentioned
- SOC 2 report not yet issued; no third-party reviews
Cardova: strengths / limitations
- Free tier and transparent low pricing
- Modern directory with household and lifecycle modelling, Hebrew-calendar support
- Automation of renewals, receipts and reports
- Free data migration on annual plans
- Very new vendor with no reviews, customer counts or published location
- No accounting, QuickBooks, school, seating, honors or cemetery features evidenced
- Platform fee of up to 5% on top of processor fees
- Boilerplate copy on pricing page suggests an early-stage site
Full reviews: Benevolate · Cardova · all comparisons