Mitzvah Tools review (2026)
Cloud B'nai Mitzvah preparation platform for clergy, tutors, students and parents (milestones, scheduling, messaging, Torah-portion resources), sold by Shulware alongside ShulCloud and priced as an annual license plus a per-student fee.
Quick facts
- Published price
- Yearly (app.mitzvahtools.com/subscriptions, 2026 footer) $2,999/yr; List price (mt2.mitzvahtools.com/pricing, expired-cert site) $995/yr
- Est. annual, 150 hh (billing tier)
- $995
- Est. annual, 400 hh (billing tier)
- $995
- Setup / onboarding
- $1,000 (app subscriptions page) or $500 (mt2 pricing page).
- Payment processing
- n/a (no payments module described).
- Target size
- 'Synagogue clients large and small'.
- Region
- North America.
- Company
- Shulware, Two Ravinia Drive, Suite 500, Atlanta, GA 30346 (Togetherwork's Atlanta office). · since Original Mitzvah Tools created by Rabbi Dan Moskovitz; cloud version c. 2016 (Detroit Jewish News 2016-07-28; Jewish Independent coverage). Acquisition date by Shulware/Togetherwork not stated.
Not ranked
We could verify fewer than 55% of the feature fields from public pages, so a score would be a guess. The profile below shows exactly what is and is not documented.
Documented strengths
- Only B'nai Mitzvah-specific platform with a native ShulCloud integration
- Published per-student pricing (on the app site)
- Backed by Shulware/Togetherwork support organization
Documented limitations
- Niche: no membership, billing, donations or accounting
- Conflicting published prices and stale secondary site (expired certificate, 2022 app)
- No independent reviews
Mitzvah Tools pricing
| Plan | Monthly | Annualized | Limit | Includes | Excludes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yearly (app.mitzvahtools.com/subscriptions, 2026 footer) | — | $2,999 | — | $2,999/yearly + $25/student + $1,000 set-up fee | |
| List price (mt2.mitzvahtools.com/pricing, expired-cert site) | — | $995 | — | $995 annual license + $25 per student + $500 setup fee; 'Total Charge $1495' first year |
Pricing model: Annual license + per-student fee + one-time setup fee; two vendor pages disagree. Terms: Annual.. shulware.com/mitzvahtools publishes no price (demo request only). The two self-published figures conflict ($2,999 vs $995 license); the app page is the live product surface and is treated as current, the mt2 page as historical. Source: https://app.mitzvahtools.com/subscriptions/, checked 2026-10-12 (vendor-page). Prices exclude payment-processing fees unless stated.
Feature coverage, with evidence
"Yes" means we found the capability described on a vendor page (linked). "Partial" means limited, add-on or third-party. "Not verified" means we could not find it documented; it may exist. Ask the vendor.
| Capability | Status | Notes and evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Partial | Student, parent, tutor and clergy records only; not a congregation membership database. source |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Partial | Torah portions / 'one-click creation of Matbeah set-lists'; scheduling with calendar sync. General Hebrew calendar not described. source |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Online payments | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| General ledger / fund accounting | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| QuickBooks integration | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Religious school management | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Events & registration | Partial | Session scheduling and calendar sync for lessons; no event registration. source |
| High Holiday seating | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Partial | Clergy 'honor assignments' for the ceremony and set-lists; not a general gabbai tool. source |
| Cemetery management | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Website / CMS | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Email & newsletters | Partial | Centralized messaging and chat between tutors, students and families; no marketing email. source |
| SMS / texting | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Member self-service portal | Partial | Student and parent logins with milestone checks and resource hub. source |
| Mobile app | Yes | Free iOS 'MitzvahTools' companion app, v1.1, last updated 2022-12-07, 5.0 from 2 ratings. source |
| API / data export | Partial | Integrates with ShulCloud via the ShulCloud API; no public API or export described. source |
| Automation & workflows | Partial | Milestone tracking, task assignment, remote learning readiness. source |
Migration
Assistance: Not stated.
Fees: Setup fee $500-$1,000 (see pricing).
source
Support & security
Channels: phone (800) 242-8371, demo form shulware.com/mitzvah-tools-demo, Shulware training/learning services, Togetherwork Zendesk (login). Hours: Not stated.. Training: Shulware Training Services and ShulwareLearning academy page for Mitzvah Tools.. source
Security: Describes COPPA compliance and secure authenticated logins; a 'Student/Children Privacy Notice' is published. No SOC/PCI statements. source
What independent sources say
Individual experiences, not survey data. Review platforms are sparse in this niche; treat counts under 20 as anecdotes.
- Apple App Store (MitzvahTools): 5.0/5 from 2 reviews. Companion app only; no platform reviews found on Capterra/G2. source
Questions to ask Mitzvah Tools before you sign
- Which price list is current ($2,999 vs $995 license)
- Whether the product is still actively developed (app last updated 2022)
- Acquisition date by Shulware/Togetherwork
Alternatives to Mitzvah Tools
| Product | Published price | Score | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Easyshul | Standard (congregations with more than 150 families) $349/mo | 80.5/100 | |
| ShulCloud | Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo | 78.5/100 | |
| Rakefet Online | RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo | 78.0/100 | |
| MyShul | Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo | 75.0/100 |
Sources
- https://shulware.com/mitzvahtools
- https://mitzvahtools.com
- https://app.mitzvahtools.com/subscriptions/
- https://mt2.mitzvahtools.com/pricing
- https://www.shulcloud.com/mitzvah-tools
- https://www.togetherwork.com/
- https://shulware.com/about-us
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/mitzvahtools/id1434435163
- https://academy.shulwarelearning.com/page/mitzvah-tools
Spotted an error? Vendors and users can request a correction; we re-verify and note the change.