Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Rakefet Online vs Shul Software (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Rakefet Online) and 2026-10-12 (Shul Software). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Rakefet Online: RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo. Shul Software: Tiered.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: Rakefet Online leads (14.0 vs 10.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: Rakefet Online leads (16.5 vs 9.5 of 20 points).
  • School and events: Rakefet Online leads (10.0 vs 2.5 of 10 points).
  • Data portability and migration: Rakefet Online leads (8.0 vs 2.5 of 10 points).
  • Pricing transparency: Rakefet Online leads (15 vs 5 of 15 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: Rakefet Online leads (5 vs 0 of 10 points).
  • Overall: Rakefet Online 78.0/100 · Shul Software 38.5/100

Pricing side by side

Rakefet Online

  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1): $149/mo · not stated ('Unlimited seats for members, donors, admins and office') · Basic data migration (import/classify members, family relationships, donors, events, yahrzeits, journal entries, chart of accounts and opening balances); billed annually; 'On Year 2 Upgraded to an Existing User'
  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS: $90/mo · not stated · Current RakefetOnline user plan; billed annually; 'Existing User Deal Options Available'

Setup: Homepage says sign-up involves a 'one-time setup fee & subscription' but no amount is published; the pricing page lists none. Basic data migration is included in the new-user plan.. Processing: Credit card and ACH processing with recurring payments via Member Portal; integrations named: Stripe, PayPal, PayQuiq, Venmo (two versions of the page list different ones). Processor fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Shul Software

  • Community (free): · up to 36 members · 50 outbound emails/day; website add-on CAD $18/mo
  • Small Synagogue: · 37-108 members · CAD $50/month; 100 emails/day; website add-on CAD $9/mo
  • Medium Synagogue ('Most Popular'): · 109-218 members · CAD $75/month; 200 emails/day; website included
  • Large Synagogue: · 219+ members · CAD $100/month; 500 emails/day; website included

Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated (online payments not described). Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityRakefet OnlineShul Software
Membership & household recordsYes Members, children, family relationships, committees, notes, attachments, profile pictures, new member/renewal forms.Yes Member profiles with family members/relationships, membership status and history, Mi Sheberach lists.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Yahrzeits, mourners, memorial plaques, yizkor book reports, printed/emailed notices mixing Jewish and Gregorian dates.Yes Hebrew/civil date alignment with sunset-aware conversion, weekly/monthly lists, optional emails to relatives, board exports.
Hebrew calendar integrationYes Automatic Hebrew date conversion, weekly Torah portions and Haftarot, Google Calendar integration.Partial Hebrew date conversion for yahrzeits; no general congregational Hebrew calendar described.
Dues, billing & receivablesYes Member/donor billing, global billing, recurring payments, member ledgers, receivables reports, printed or emailed statements.Partial Membership dues reports, pledge schedules and reminders, exportable statements; no invoicing/AR ledger described.
Online paymentsYes Credit card and ACH, recurring payments via Member Portal; Stripe/PayPal/PayQuiq/Venmo named.Not verified Not mentioned.
Donations, pledges & campaignsPartial Donation payment forms and donor giving tracking; 'School and Fundraising' listed on rakefetonline.com. Pledges not explicitly mentioned.Yes One-time and recurring donations, pledges, campaigns, funds, CRA/IRS tax receipts, appeals.
General ledger / fund accountingYes Full AR/AP, general ledger with restricted funds, check writing, journal entries, bank reconciliation, budgeting, P&L/balance sheet/trial balance/audit reports.Not verified Not mentioned.
QuickBooks integrationNot verified Not mentioned on current vendor pages; UJA 2018 guide noted some customers pair Rakefet with QuickBooks or Sage.Not verified Not mentioned.
Religious school managementYes 'School Management' listed; religious school classes tracked in the database.Not verified Not mentioned.
Events & registrationYes Form builder for events and registrations; special event tracking.Partial Event participation tracking; no registration/ticketing described.
High Holiday seatingPartial rakefetonline.com lists 'seating' among tracked data and 'High Holy Day planning' is cited; no dedicated seating-chart module described.Not verified Not mentioned.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsPartial 'Aliyot' tracked in the database per rakefetonline.com; no gabbai workflow described.Partial Aliyot tracked under pledges/events; no gabbai workflow described.
Cemetery managementNot verified Not mentioned on vendor pages checked.Not verified Not mentioned.
Website / CMSNo No website builder; donation/payment forms embed in an existing website and API access is offered for external sites.Partial A 'website' is an add-on on lower tiers and included on Medium/Large; its scope is not described.
Email & newslettersYes Email templates, quick messages, scheduled emails, contact lists.Yes Outbound email with daily quotas per tier (50-500/day).
SMS / textingYes SMS templates and quick messages via Twilio integration.Not verified Not mentioned.
Member self-service portalYes Members/donors view commitments, set up recurring payments, download receipts.Yes Secure members portal.
Mobile appNo Described as 'mobile friendly'; no dedicated app mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned.
API / data exportYes Import/export and API access for external processes or websites.Partial CSV/PDF exports of reports and statements; no API described.
Automation & workflowsPartial Scheduled emails and recurring billing; no general workflow engine described.Partial Pledge reminders and automated yahrzeit emails.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Rakefet Online, Shul Software.

Rubric scores

GroupRakefet OnlineShul SoftwareMax
Jewish-specific workflows14.010.020
Membership, dues and money16.59.520
Communications and engagement9.59.015
School and events10.02.510
Data portability and migration8.02.510
Pricing transparency15515
Independent customer evidence5010
Total78.038.5100

Rakefet Online: strengths / limitations

  • Built-in full double-entry accounting (AR/AP/GL, restricted funds, bank rec) rather than relying on QuickBooks
  • Integrated Jewish calendar with Torah portions and Google Calendar sync
  • API plus import/export; unlimited users
  • Published pricing; basic data migration included for new customers
  • Live US-based phone support with published hours
  • Year-1 price ($149/mo) is substantially above the renewal price ($90/mo); both billed annually
  • No website CMS; no dedicated mobile app
  • Cemetery, QuickBooks integration and dedicated seating module not evidenced on current pages
  • No independent review-site presence found
  • Company location and ownership details not published

Shul Software: strengths / limitations

  • Free tier for congregations up to 36 members
  • Low published CAD pricing
  • Sunset-aware Hebrew date handling and CRA/IRS receipts
  • Role-based access and members portal
  • No accounting, QuickBooks, school, seating, cemetery, SMS or online-payment features evidenced
  • Daily outbound email caps
  • No independent reviews; company details sparse
  • Member vs family counting ambiguity in tiers

Full reviews: Rakefet Online · Shul Software · all comparisons