MyShul vs Shul Software (2026)
Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.
Quick answer
- Price: MyShul: Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo. Shul Software: Tiered.
- Jewish-specific workflows: Shul Software leads (8.0 vs 10.0 of 20 points).
- Membership, dues and money: MyShul leads (18.5 vs 9.5 of 20 points).
- Communications and engagement: MyShul leads (10.5 vs 9.0 of 15 points).
- School and events: MyShul leads (5.0 vs 2.5 of 10 points).
- Data portability and migration: MyShul leads (8.0 vs 2.5 of 10 points).
- Pricing transparency: MyShul leads (15 vs 5 of 15 points).
- Independent customer evidence: MyShul leads (10 vs 0 of 10 points).
- Overall: MyShul 75.0/100 · Shul Software 38.5/100
Pricing side by side
MyShul
- Standard: $179/mo · Unlimited contacts; 5 custom fields, 2 role permissions, 5 sponsorships, 5 tickets/store items, 2 seating maps, manual transaction entry up to $20k/mo (column mapping inferred from order) · 'All Core Features': CRM, donations, invoices, statements, schedules, zmanim, app, TV, fundraising tools, sponsorships, tickets/store, recurring payments, tax receipts
- Premium: $310/mo · Unlimited custom fields/permissions/sponsorships/seating maps; manual entry up to $40k/mo (inferred) · Standard + memberships, bulk invoicing, QuickBooks sync, accounting reports, Smart Forms with dynamic pricing, custom website + hosting + domain, payment terminal, bulk email
- Enterprise ('most popular'): $460/mo · Unlimited; unlimited manual transaction entry · Everything in Premium; eligible for Multi-Bank Payout add-on
- Add-ons: · Custom Website $44/mo ($36/mo annual); API & SQL Access $120/mo ($98/mo annual); Multi-Bank Payout $191/mo ($230/mo annual as printed; Enterprise only, up to 10 banks)
- Terms-of-service fee model (free tier): · 'Shuls have no subscription fees'; 1% platform fee on processed funds; 3% on raffle transactions; Stripe fees additional
Setup: Not stated. 'Small Shul Discount' available on request (no figure).. Processing: Stripe ('processed entirely by Stripe'); card/ACH rates not stated. Terms add a 1% platform fee on processed funds and 3% on raffles.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Shul Software
- Community (free): · up to 36 members · 50 outbound emails/day; website add-on CAD $18/mo
- Small Synagogue: · 37-108 members · CAD $50/month; 100 emails/day; website add-on CAD $9/mo
- Medium Synagogue ('Most Popular'): · 109-218 members · CAD $75/month; 200 emails/day; website included
- Large Synagogue: · 219+ members · CAD $100/month; 500 emails/day; website included
Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated (online payments not described). Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).
Feature by feature
| Capability | MyShul | Shul Software |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Yes CRM with unlimited contacts; 'Memberships' on Premium+; households not explicitly described. | Yes Member profiles with family members/relationships, membership status and history, Mi Sheberach lists. |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Not verified Not mentioned on pages read; a third-party roundup (wifitalents.com) lists 'yahrzeit tracking', unverified. | Yes Hebrew/civil date alignment with sunset-aware conversion, weekly/monthly lists, optional emails to relatives, board exports. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Yes Schedules and zmanim in Core. | Partial Hebrew date conversion for yahrzeits; no general congregational Hebrew calendar described. |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Yes Invoices, statements, recurring payments; bulk invoicing on Premium+; payment reminders. | Partial Membership dues reports, pledge schedules and reminders, exportable statements; no invoicing/AR ledger described. |
| Online payments | Yes Stripe; app and web payments; payment terminal on Premium+. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Yes Donations, fundraising tools, sponsorships, raffles (3% fee per Terms). | Yes One-time and recurring donations, pledges, campaigns, funds, CRA/IRS tax receipts, appeals. |
| General ledger / fund accounting | Partial 'Accounting reports', up to 10 banks / multi-bank payout; not a GL. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| QuickBooks integration | Yes 'QuickBooks sync' on Premium and Enterprise. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Religious school management | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Events & registration | Yes Tickets & Store (5 on Standard, unlimited above). | Partial Event participation tracking; no registration/ticketing described. |
| High Holiday seating | Yes 'Seating Map' (2 on Standard, unlimited above); homepage lists seat maps. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Partial Aliyot tracked under pledges/events; no gabbai workflow described. |
| Cemetery management | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Website / CMS | Yes Custom website with hosting, support and templates: included on Premium+ or $44/mo add-on. | Partial A 'website' is an add-on on lower tiers and included on Medium/Large; its scope is not described. |
| Email & newsletters | Yes 'Bulk email' on Premium+. | Yes Outbound email with daily quotas per tier (50-500/day). |
| SMS / texting | Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| Member self-service portal | Partial Member-facing app pays invoices, donates, views schedules; a web portal is not described. | Yes Secure members portal. |
| Mobile app | Yes iOS 'MyShul.com' v3.1 (2025-11-04) and Android 'com.myshul.app'; single app for users and admins. | Not verified Not mentioned. |
| API / data export | Yes 'API & SQL Access' add-on $120/mo. | Partial CSV/PDF exports of reports and statements; no API described. |
| Automation & workflows | Partial 'Automates repetitive tasks'; Smart Forms with dynamic pricing; payment reminders. | Partial Pledge reminders and automated yahrzeit emails. |
Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: MyShul, Shul Software.
Rubric scores
| Group | MyShul | Shul Software | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jewish-specific workflows | 8.0 | 10.0 | 20 |
| Membership, dues and money | 18.5 | 9.5 | 20 |
| Communications and engagement | 10.5 | 9.0 | 15 |
| School and events | 5.0 | 2.5 | 10 |
| Data portability and migration | 8.0 | 2.5 | 10 |
| Pricing transparency | 15 | 5 | 15 |
| Independent customer evidence | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Total | 75.0 | 38.5 | 100 |
MyShul: strengths / limitations
- Published tier pricing and add-on prices
- Native member app, kiosk/TV displays, seating maps and raffles aimed at Orthodox shuls
- QuickBooks sync and API/SQL access available
- Pricing page and Terms describe two different fee models (subscription vs 1% platform fee)
- Terms assert MyShul owns all data entered and allow a temporary fee increase of up to 100%
- Yahrzeit, honors, school, cemetery, SMS not evidenced
- Self-published '11 compared' article and unsourced '#1 / 4.9' claim
Shul Software: strengths / limitations
- Free tier for congregations up to 36 members
- Low published CAD pricing
- Sunset-aware Hebrew date handling and CRA/IRS receipts
- Role-based access and members portal
- No accounting, QuickBooks, school, seating, cemetery, SMS or online-payment features evidenced
- Daily outbound email caps
- No independent reviews; company details sparse
- Member vs family counting ambiguity in tiers
Full reviews: MyShul · Shul Software · all comparisons