Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

MyShul vs Rakefet Online (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (MyShul) and 2026-10-12 (Rakefet Online). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: MyShul: Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo. Rakefet Online: RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo. For a 150-household congregation that is roughly $3,048 vs $1,080 per year before processing and setup fees.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: Rakefet Online leads (8.0 vs 14.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: MyShul leads (18.5 vs 16.5 of 20 points).
  • School and events: Rakefet Online leads (5.0 vs 10.0 of 10 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: MyShul leads (10 vs 5 of 10 points).
  • Overall: MyShul 75.0/100 · Rakefet Online 78.0/100

Pricing side by side

MyShul

  • Standard: $179/mo · Unlimited contacts; 5 custom fields, 2 role permissions, 5 sponsorships, 5 tickets/store items, 2 seating maps, manual transaction entry up to $20k/mo (column mapping inferred from order) · 'All Core Features': CRM, donations, invoices, statements, schedules, zmanim, app, TV, fundraising tools, sponsorships, tickets/store, recurring payments, tax receipts
  • Premium: $310/mo · Unlimited custom fields/permissions/sponsorships/seating maps; manual entry up to $40k/mo (inferred) · Standard + memberships, bulk invoicing, QuickBooks sync, accounting reports, Smart Forms with dynamic pricing, custom website + hosting + domain, payment terminal, bulk email
  • Enterprise ('most popular'): $460/mo · Unlimited; unlimited manual transaction entry · Everything in Premium; eligible for Multi-Bank Payout add-on
  • Add-ons: · Custom Website $44/mo ($36/mo annual); API & SQL Access $120/mo ($98/mo annual); Multi-Bank Payout $191/mo ($230/mo annual as printed; Enterprise only, up to 10 banks)
  • Terms-of-service fee model (free tier): · 'Shuls have no subscription fees'; 1% platform fee on processed funds; 3% on raffle transactions; Stripe fees additional

Setup: Not stated. 'Small Shul Discount' available on request (no figure).. Processing: Stripe ('processed entirely by Stripe'); card/ACH rates not stated. Terms add a 1% platform fee on processed funds and 3% on raffles.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Rakefet Online

  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1): $149/mo · not stated ('Unlimited seats for members, donors, admins and office') · Basic data migration (import/classify members, family relationships, donors, events, yahrzeits, journal entries, chart of accounts and opening balances); billed annually; 'On Year 2 Upgraded to an Existing User'
  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS: $90/mo · not stated · Current RakefetOnline user plan; billed annually; 'Existing User Deal Options Available'

Setup: Homepage says sign-up involves a 'one-time setup fee & subscription' but no amount is published; the pricing page lists none. Basic data migration is included in the new-user plan.. Processing: Credit card and ACH processing with recurring payments via Member Portal; integrations named: Stripe, PayPal, PayQuiq, Venmo (two versions of the page list different ones). Processor fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityMyShulRakefet Online
Membership & household recordsYes CRM with unlimited contacts; 'Memberships' on Premium+; households not explicitly described.Yes Members, children, family relationships, committees, notes, attachments, profile pictures, new member/renewal forms.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersNot verified Not mentioned on pages read; a third-party roundup (wifitalents.com) lists 'yahrzeit tracking', unverified.Yes Yahrzeits, mourners, memorial plaques, yizkor book reports, printed/emailed notices mixing Jewish and Gregorian dates.
Hebrew calendar integrationYes Schedules and zmanim in Core.Yes Automatic Hebrew date conversion, weekly Torah portions and Haftarot, Google Calendar integration.
Dues, billing & receivablesYes Invoices, statements, recurring payments; bulk invoicing on Premium+; payment reminders.Yes Member/donor billing, global billing, recurring payments, member ledgers, receivables reports, printed or emailed statements.
Online paymentsYes Stripe; app and web payments; payment terminal on Premium+.Yes Credit card and ACH, recurring payments via Member Portal; Stripe/PayPal/PayQuiq/Venmo named.
Donations, pledges & campaignsYes Donations, fundraising tools, sponsorships, raffles (3% fee per Terms).Partial Donation payment forms and donor giving tracking; 'School and Fundraising' listed on rakefetonline.com. Pledges not explicitly mentioned.
General ledger / fund accountingPartial 'Accounting reports', up to 10 banks / multi-bank payout; not a GL.Yes Full AR/AP, general ledger with restricted funds, check writing, journal entries, bank reconciliation, budgeting, P&L/balance sheet/trial balance/audit reports.
QuickBooks integrationYes 'QuickBooks sync' on Premium and Enterprise.Not verified Not mentioned on current vendor pages; UJA 2018 guide noted some customers pair Rakefet with QuickBooks or Sage.
Religious school managementNot verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.Yes 'School Management' listed; religious school classes tracked in the database.
Events & registrationYes Tickets & Store (5 on Standard, unlimited above).Yes Form builder for events and registrations; special event tracking.
High Holiday seatingYes 'Seating Map' (2 on Standard, unlimited above); homepage lists seat maps.Partial rakefetonline.com lists 'seating' among tracked data and 'High Holy Day planning' is cited; no dedicated seating-chart module described.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.Partial 'Aliyot' tracked in the database per rakefetonline.com; no gabbai workflow described.
Cemetery managementNot verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.Not verified Not mentioned on vendor pages checked.
Website / CMSYes Custom website with hosting, support and templates: included on Premium+ or $44/mo add-on.No No website builder; donation/payment forms embed in an existing website and API access is offered for external sites.
Email & newslettersYes 'Bulk email' on Premium+.Yes Email templates, quick messages, scheduled emails, contact lists.
SMS / textingNot verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.Yes SMS templates and quick messages via Twilio integration.
Member self-service portalPartial Member-facing app pays invoices, donates, views schedules; a web portal is not described.Yes Members/donors view commitments, set up recurring payments, download receipts.
Mobile appYes iOS 'MyShul.com' v3.1 (2025-11-04) and Android 'com.myshul.app'; single app for users and admins.No Described as 'mobile friendly'; no dedicated app mentioned.
API / data exportYes 'API & SQL Access' add-on $120/mo.Yes Import/export and API access for external processes or websites.
Automation & workflowsPartial 'Automates repetitive tasks'; Smart Forms with dynamic pricing; payment reminders.Partial Scheduled emails and recurring billing; no general workflow engine described.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: MyShul, Rakefet Online.

Rubric scores

GroupMyShulRakefet OnlineMax
Jewish-specific workflows8.014.020
Membership, dues and money18.516.520
Communications and engagement10.59.515
School and events5.010.010
Data portability and migration8.08.010
Pricing transparency151515
Independent customer evidence10510
Total75.078.0100

MyShul: strengths / limitations

  • Published tier pricing and add-on prices
  • Native member app, kiosk/TV displays, seating maps and raffles aimed at Orthodox shuls
  • QuickBooks sync and API/SQL access available
  • Pricing page and Terms describe two different fee models (subscription vs 1% platform fee)
  • Terms assert MyShul owns all data entered and allow a temporary fee increase of up to 100%
  • Yahrzeit, honors, school, cemetery, SMS not evidenced
  • Self-published '11 compared' article and unsourced '#1 / 4.9' claim

Rakefet Online: strengths / limitations

  • Built-in full double-entry accounting (AR/AP/GL, restricted funds, bank rec) rather than relying on QuickBooks
  • Integrated Jewish calendar with Torah portions and Google Calendar sync
  • API plus import/export; unlimited users
  • Published pricing; basic data migration included for new customers
  • Live US-based phone support with published hours
  • Year-1 price ($149/mo) is substantially above the renewal price ($90/mo); both billed annually
  • No website CMS; no dedicated mobile app
  • Cemetery, QuickBooks integration and dedicated seating module not evidenced on current pages
  • No independent review-site presence found
  • Company location and ownership details not published

Full reviews: MyShul · Rakefet Online · all comparisons